new mac software dept

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by plwrght, Jan 6, 2006.

1. plwrght macrumors newbie

I work for a software company in MI and we currently only make one product for the mac. We are considering expanding in this area in the hopes that we will increase the sales to windows users as well, just from more word of mouth. Is this a reasonable goal? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. I may even be able to give free licenses of our current mac software to those of you that provide thorough feedback. Thanks a lot!

2. jblock macrumors regular

Not sure how making more Mac apps will translate into getting windows users interested.

You have to realize that even if ever Mac user bought your software, you're still only hitting a small percentage of the computing market. I was a product manager for software companies for many years and the biggest mistake they all made was not doing a thorough business case analysis before developing and bringing products to market. Make sure you know your target market and what their needs truly are. And don't forget to do the proper financial analysis. Everybody's time costs money, from developers to sales and everywhere in between.

Jonathan

3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

Are you asking if people think you can increase your Windows sales by word of mouth cool factor on the Mac? Or do you want to expand into Windows offerings? There is some history of applications whose cool factor definitely extended into the Windows world...iLife, and iTunes in particular, are the big examples. It might be possible. I think Windows and Mac users of multi-client IM software are more aware of each other too (i.e. a lot of Trillian users seem to have seen Adium and vice versa).

And also, you may benefit from the fact that many Mac users also use Windows to some extent.