Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Skrilla™

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 15, 2007
Houston
I have been using OS X on my MacBook at home for a little over 6 weeks now. I have used every version of Windows from 3.1 to Vista. I am a Mac newb, but not a computer newb. I have re-installed Mac OS X twice since I bought the MacBook - just to have a fresh install after trying as many apps as possible and deciding what I like.

Here are my first impressions:

Finder - not enough functionality, major room for improvement in this thing.

GUI - rubish, would be nice if it all looked like iTunes 7. I used to think it looked really nice in screenshots and such, but the first thing I do when I load up the OS is install shapeshifter. Too much inconsistency between apps. I don't care for the rainbow pinwheel or candy cane progress bars either (first thing I do after install windows is install the uxtheme.dll hack so I can get rid of the fisher price gui)

Dock - hate it, try to hide it, but always end up needing to use it

Menu Bar - I wish I could auto hide this thing or make the bar/font smaller.

Maximize - sometimes I want a full screen view, this is not available in most apps unless you drag the window around, which leads me to

Resize Windows - bottom right corner only, why?!

Those are some of my negatives, I will post some positives later.

ksgant

macrumors 6502a
Jan 12, 2006
Chicago
have re-installed Mac OS X twice since I bought the MacBook - just to have a fresh install after trying as many apps as possible and deciding what I like.

You do know you can just drag the apps you've tried out to the trash to uninstall them right? I can't understand why you had to reinstall OS X twice...did it get corrupted?