New Mac user--Help please?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by laughingbabe16, Jun 2, 2006.

1. laughingbabe16 macrumors member

Jun 2, 2006
    Hi everyone! I'm new to Mac and this fall I will be attending college. I went to the Apple store today and fell in love with the White MacBook with,

13.3-inch widescreen display

1280 x 800 resolution

2.0GHz Intel Core Duo1

512MB memory (2x256MB SODIMMs)

60GB 5400-rpm Serial ATA hard drive2

SuperDrive (DVD±RW, CD-RW).

Anyways, since I will be in college, do you think this is a suitable laptop, that will last me all 4 years? I will have word, powerpoint documents, some graphic documents from my Paint Shop Pro program, as well as being connected to the internet, uploading photos from my digital camera, and sending/writing out emails. Will I have enough memory and hard drive space to do these tasks?

Also, to the users who have this model, or any other MacBook, how long does your battery last? How do you know when the battery is fully charged? and when you over-charged the battery?

I am a newie at Mac's so switching from my beloved Compaq Desktop PC will be a change, but I only hope its for the better.

Any imput and feedback is very much appreciated!!

Thank you again!
  2. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

Aug 20, 2005
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    Macbook will do you good but i think you should up the RAM to at least 1gig and a external HD for your photos and music pleasure...

I'm not sure about the graphics n stuffs but the macbook is powerful to maintain good work.

3. swingerofbirch macrumors 68030

Oct 24, 2003
    The Amalgamated States of Central North America
    Will it last you four years?

It depends on how many times you drop it.

One of my biggest regrets in college, besides the college I chose, my major, never having made friends, and having dropped out, is that I didn't buy accidental insurance for my iBook. I tended to drop mine a lot.