New Mac user here, and a question regarding window resizing

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by steveg56, May 16, 2002.

  1. steveg56 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Location:
    san ramon, ca
    #1
    Why do i have to resize all my windows everytime i open an application, I would think it would go back to the way i left it the last time it was open. Is there a way to save previous window size?
     
  2. GeeYouEye macrumors 68000

    GeeYouEye

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #2
    depends on what applications you are running. For the Finder, if it doesn't work, set it how you want, logout and login. That SHOULD fix it.

    Other programs, such as OmniWeb, have a save window size option under one of the menus.
     
  3. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #3
    i am pretty sure most apps store it in a prefs file of some sort or another.

    sometimes i've had this issue too, but i think it's the app itself...

    you could also just try trashing prefs, though you shouldn't NEED to...
     
  4. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #4
    What applications are you refering to? Is it all, or just one in particular. Most times, the windows for the apps I use revert to the last size they were when I quit the application.
     
  5. steveg56 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Location:
    san ramon, ca
    #5
    Mostly the finder and IE are the two most used programs that i have noticed.
     
  6. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #6
    I have seen that happen with IE... Typically after a pop-up window has shown up, and then you go to open a new window. If you force quit IE and relaunch it, that also sometimes happens. Otherwise, every time I launch IE, it brings up the window size and position that I was in when I quit it before. I typically run with more then two windows at work (on OS 9.2.2) and usually have only two or three at home (under OS X 10.1.4). Most of the time, the finder keeps the same position and size. I do not recall the last time it didn't do that.
     
  7. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #7
  8. Grokgod macrumors 6502a

    Grokgod

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Location:
    Deep within the heart of madness!
    #8
    this makes me happy!

    I am so pleased to have someone bring up this issue because its been driving me crazy in osx.
    I cant get my IE windows size to be remembered either!
    i wantfull screen net page viewing, but have to resize ever time, so irritating!
    I would think that the plus bubble would fill the screen but it only opens the pane to a certain length,
    To be honest I see little logic to the Plus bubbles method.
    I would love to hear a detailed explaination!
     
  9. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #9
    commence detailed explanation:

    ahem.

    ...

    microsoft sucks.

    the end.
     
  10. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    I hope that that Mozilla link...

    ...is to a mach-o RC2 build? Also: www.omnigroup.com

    Get Omniweb 4.1b6, it rocks.
     
  11. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #11
    mach-o builds are still too buggy for me to recommend them. if they are going to be buggy, then they need to be as good as Chimera. as far as OW goes. I use it every once in a while, but its just not fast enough.
     
  12. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #12
    To get the Finder to remember window positions, you don't have to log out and in. What you have to do is this:

    1. Open a new window (you can't use one you've been working with)
    2. Without opening any folders (no not navigate the filesystem), set your window the way you want it.
    3. Close the window.

    From now on, all your Finder windows will be the same (they will shift down and to the right if you open more than one though, for convenience).

    It's a sucky method, but that;s how it is. I hope it is improved upon.
     

Share This Page