New Mac User Laptop Recommendations

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by divby1, Jan 27, 2005.

1. divby1 macrumors newbie

Okay, I want to buy an apple laptop, I know that much, but I'm at a loss for what I actually need as opposed to what would be really cool.

I'm going to approach this by pointing out what I think I need/want the laptop for and what my knowledge level is:

1) I'm a college sudent, so simple word processing obviously

2) I'm a gamer, specifically I'd like to play World of Warcraft on the laptop when I'm away from my apartment, its teh first game of its type that I've played and I like it way to much)

3) I'm a Web Designer who uses Macromedia products to conceptualize designs and editpad to actually code.

I'm ruling out a 17" powerbook for cost and portability reasons, and I'm a little bit sceptical about the 12" ibook and powerbook models becuase I think the screen might be too small for games/design.

I can easily gauge how much power I need to put into a PC, and usually buy whatever the fastest parts are that I can afford. With a mac however I'm a little bit unsure, so I'm wondering where is the breaking point that says "buy a powerbook"?

And additionally I really don't like how secrative apple is about their product releases, so should I think about holding out until right after a new model/speedbump is released?

2. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

Chip NoVaMac

If it weren't for the games, I would have said the 12". I have one and love it! Never found the screen to be too small till I got a Dell 2001FP for desktop use. But on the road, the 12" is perfect for me. I did DTP with the 12" for almost a year.

3. mischief macrumors 68030

mischief

Always buy the fastest, baddest-assed machine you can afford. This goes double for Laptops. Because they're smaller, harder to work on and have less expandability than 90% of computers they get "old" quicker.