1. Welcome to the new MacRumors forums. See our announcement and read our FAQ

New MacBook Air slow to shut down...

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Drew017, Dec 29, 2012.

1. macrumors 65816

Drew017

I just got my MacBookAir (11 inch, early 2012) today and I'm very pleased with it, however it seems to take a while to shut down (like 20 seconds or so, instead of like 2-3) I know from using other MacBook airs that this doesn't seem quite normal. What could the issue be? I'm running OS X 10.8.2 (with the latest software updates) Thanks!!

2. macrumors 601

External-attached devices incl USB, monitor and LAN shares will cause this delay. I suppose u can manually eject them before hand but that's the reason.

3. macrumors 65816

Drew017

Thanks, but nope... nothing is attached. It does this even when I have no apps running in the background :/

4. macrumors 6502a

Blaine

I believe it's a known issue with 10.8.2

Maybe it'll be fixed with 10.8.3

5. macrumors 65816

Drew017

hopefully! :p

6. macrumors demi-god

x2, as I'm having it also! :D

7. macrumors 65816

Drew017

hmmmm if I repair permissions before I shut down it is normal, but when I restart it again it is back to the same old slow startup :confused:

8. macrumors 6502

Choose Apple menu > System Preferences, click Startup Disk, and select a disk

that you boot from

9. macrumors demi-god

From reading various posts over the last few weeks, it seems like a lot of people are having this problem, and I don't think anyone's found a reasonable (i.e. not dicking around in terminal) workaround.

10. macrumors 601

What about if u DONT SHUT IT DOWN, but merely put it to sleep like lots of people do? U know, go with the flow?

11. macrumors 6502a

Because I like to shut my laptop down, I don't give a **** what other people do

OP I'm experiencing the same thing, I noticed it right away the first time I shut it down. Hopefully it gets fixed some how

12. macrumors 65816