New Macbook big problem!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Garn, Aug 3, 2006.

  1. Garn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #1
    I just got a new macbook, but I don't know at all how to set up a wireless router for it. I live in a fairly small apartment, so long range isnt an issue, but I just dont know what to buy at all. help me
     
  2. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #2
  3. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #3
    macbook should have wireless card already installed.

    All you will have to get is a wireless router and they should be plug and play.

    I own a linksys router and an AP Express and both work flawlessly

    However some routers are not friendly with Mac I forget which ones exactly
     
  4. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    I think NetGear may have some problems, a firmware upgrade would likely fix the problems -- but NetGear isn't on the ball these days.

    Linksys seems to have taken their spot in the Mac community.

    Edit: If I remembered correctly.
     
  5. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #5
    I have a Netgear DG834G, and it works fine. I have 3 notebooks (2 mac, one peecee) connected via wireless, 1 old crippled TiBook (which, as a result of broken hinges, has become the thinnest desktop computer ever made) and a (currently dead - power unit) iMac are connected via ethernet.

    As for what to get, go to a local Applecenter and ask what they think.

    The base station should connect with your computer instantly if Airport is turned on on your computer. If there isnt a quater circle icon in your menu bar, go Applications/Internet Connect, and click on the AirPort icon. Living in an appartment, you will deffinately want a WEP key on it. Your router should have an IP address included. The setup is different for different routers. On mine, i go to the main setup page, click Wirelss Settings on the left column, enter a passphrase and it generates keys for me. For ease of memory, use a 64bit (10 character) key.

    Hope this helps!
     
  6. Jollins macrumors regular

    Jollins

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    #6
    This is perfect for your needs, is very inexpensive (it can also be found for $40 at Best Buy), and includes software that step-by-step guides you through creating a secure wireless network. When I set one of these up the other day, it made me wish I had this model rather than my old linksys. :D
     
  7. psychspirit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    #8
    That's fine

    Yep, I've gone through the whole ordeal of understanding and researching about how to set up internet on my laptop. But I've tested two modems and 2 routers. D-Link will work for you because you're in an apartment. It didn't work for me because my pc was in the basement and my laptop was on the 2nd floor. So for me, I settled with Linksys which has two antennas. Works great so far - sometimes I have to reboot it but it's still okay.

    So yes, but why not check out Futureshop.ca? I think they have good sales on D-Link routers. Don't spend more than 40 bucks on D-link!

    I might have just saved you 30 bucks. Here's a D-Link for 35 bucks.:)
    http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?logon=&langid=EN&sku_id=0665000FS10045827&catid=

    G'luck.
     
  8. woodydr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    birmingham
  9. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #10
    Of course you could always get an AirPort Express for $99. Thats made by Apple so its 100% Mac compatible as well as PC compatible too. It also has USB printer sharing built in.
     

Share This Page