New Macbook Owner Thread #3,294

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by phungy, Jan 2, 2007.

  1. phungy macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #1
    I'm typing this on my new MB! Heard the FedEx truck pull up and I ran downstairs. Asked me if I was Paul and laughed when I confirmed that I was.

    Before turning on the MB I applied the Best Skins Ever Full Body Skin as well as the iSkin and 2x1GB G.Skill.

    Hooked it up to an external 19" widescreen from Samsung (931BW). I'll post a pic of my setup in the "Mac Setup" thread.

    Going to play around with the different features for now.

    Alittle disappointed when I only had 55GB free. Thinking about getting a 100GB 7200rpm or 120GB 5400rpm from Newegg.

    Maybe my expectations for the MB was a bit high because I was hoping the MB would be a bit lighter.

    Other than that...Loving every second of it!
     
  2. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #2
    Go for the Hitachi HD

    Go with the Hitachi 160GB 5400rpm drive at newegg.

    HITACHI Travelstar 5K160 HTS541616J9SA00 (0A28844) 160GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache Serial ATA150 Notebook Hard Drive - OEM

    Works great in my MB CD 2.0. I've never even used the original 60GB drive.

    Great with OS X and Bootcamp.

    Cheers,
     
  3. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #3
    Yes, OS X + Apps + Language Translations takes a lot of space. I usually use my restore CDs to reformat the hard drive, and install everything EXCEPT the Language translations, which saves you a ton of space.

    Do not, however, use the language translation remover utilities.

    Command + Shift + 4 is the wrong key combo. Command + Shift + 3 is what you want. Command + Shift + 4 will give you cross hairs with which you can drag out a specific area of your screen to take a shot of (instead of the whole one). Also, if you hit Command + Shift + 4 then hit space, you can simple move your mouse over whatever window you want to take a screen shot of.

    Command + Shift + 3 does the entire screen.
     
  4. phungy thread starter macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #4
    As in monolingual? Oops =X It saved me about 1.6GB already...
     
  5. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #5
    Monolingual has a history of severely messing stuff up. When you get you're new drive, just use your restore CDs to reinstall the OS, and all the factory apps, even if you "think" you don't need them - you only think that because you don't know what they are, but one day you'll read about how awesome GarageBand is or something, and then be like "**** I didn't reinstall that"... but simply deselect the Language translations in the customized install option.
     
  6. phungy thread starter macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #6
    Gotcha, thanks for the advice.
     
  7. Mac'Mo macrumors 6502a

    Mac'Mo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Congrats on the new mac, question: can MBs run HDs at 7200 rpm? i too was interested in upgrading my macbook.
     
  8. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #8
    Yes. I had such a drive inside my PowerBook.
     
  9. Mac'Mo macrumors 6502a

    Mac'Mo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    damnit i should've replaced the HD when i first got my mb, now i really dont wanna transfer all the stuff on it to a new hd =(
     
  10. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #10
    yeah tha macbooks can run a 7200 rpm perfectly fine. :)
     
  11. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #11
    If you don't use bootcamp the transfer is very simple using SuperDuper or even DiskUtil (but I really like SuperDuper). I created several bootable versions of my system to be able to go back to any one of my Point in Time versions in the event of a major problem. Makes reloading a snap. Even created a fully configured version with all my base apps that I keep updated (OS X) just in case I want a complete fresh start w/o any data or small utilities that may have messed up something over time.

    Having a few external drives (or one big one with many partitions) is a great way to save yourself a lot of trouble in the future.

    Cheers,
     
  12. djinn macrumors 68000

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #12
    Before turning on the MB I applied the Best Skins Ever Full Body Skin as well as the iSkin and 2x1GB G.Skill??

    Isn't that silicon keyboard protector hard to type on? I bought one for my Dell and used it for like a week before it drove me nuts. Only thing I bought was the
    ScreenSavrz - Notebook and Sleevz. And if the MBP cycles its airflow through the keyboard, you might want to rethink using that keyboard cover.
     
  13. taurean macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #13
    macbook problems

    Hi all,

    I recently switched from my decade long experience with Windows to Mac. So, I went and bought a Macbook 2.0GHz standard version.

    1. Whenever I start the macbook, I hear to a slot drive access noise. Is that pretty normal or is it just with me ?.

    2. Also, sometimes, the firefox browser takes few secs. (3-4 secs. occasionallly) to bring up a new page.

    3. Has anyone bought the DVI-out from Apple itself ?. I find it really short in length, I was looking to use my macbook and monitor as dual monitors. Let me know the solution if there is any.

    I am unsure whether I am expecting too much or it is the way these thing works.

    Appreciate your help.

    .taurean
     
  14. phungy thread starter macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #14
    I hadn't tried typing without it yet. It seems about the same..maybe a bit tougher but I'll probably get use to it. It makes typing much more quiet though.

    Does air cycle through the keys? Maybe that's why smcFanControl says its 140F right now. =X
     
  15. phungy thread starter macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #15
    I bought the mini-DVI to VGA...I'm sure the mini-DVI to DVI is the same length but I don't think its too short. The VGA cord from the external monitor is long enough. I don't think you should have a problem if the MB is with a ~3 feet from the external monitor.
     
  16. Mac'Mo macrumors 6502a

    Mac'Mo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #16
    i've got ScreenSavrz, they're awesome!
     
  17. djinn macrumors 68000

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #17
    140? is that idle? If it is.. you might not want to use that keyboard cover.
     
  18. phungy thread starter macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #18
    I was running about 4-5 programs at the time. Right now I just have Adium/FF and smcFanControl and its reading at 120F +/- 2 degrees.
     
  19. phungy thread starter macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #19
    So ScreenSavrz is not a clear LCD protector right? It's just the cloth with the cleaning solutions?
     
  20. bankshot macrumors 65816

    bankshot

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Southern California
    #20
    Perfectly normal. Happens on every Apple notebook I've owned or used.
     
  21. phungy thread starter macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #21
    I'm taking your advice and have partitioned my external with bootable versions of OSX. Don't know why I didn't think of it before but Time Machine should be useful too.
     

Share This Page