New MacMini 2012 Fusion problem. No SSD in Disk utiliby

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by LeandrodaFL, Sep 1, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    LeandrodaFL

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #1
    Hello all. I just pruchased a brand new MacMini 2012 with Mountain Lion. I want to install a SSD and fusion with the 1TB HDD. I got the 500GB Samsung 840.

    I installed the SSD to the 2nd bay using OWC kit, and kept the original 1TB HDD in the original connector. However, disk utility is not seeing the SSD. QUESTIONS ARE:

    1) How do I format the SSD or make it appear in Disk utility? Is there any application I can use? Its probably in a NTFS format, but nothing is appearing for me in dik utiliyt.

    2) Now we are at it, do I need to put the SSD in the primary connecter in order to fusion it? I could swap the sata connectors.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Even if the SSD would be already formatted, normally new bare drives come unformatted when bought new, it would show up in Disk Utility, thus either a connection is loose (check or put the SSD into a USB enclosure) or it may be DOA.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    LeandrodaFL

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #3
    I will check the SSD in my PC, but can anyone tell me if in order to fusion the drives SSD + HDD, does the SSD has to be in the primary connector?
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    Most likely you either didn't properly seat the SATA cable on the board correctly, or you did seat it and it popped out when you reassembled the computer.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    LeandrodaFL

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #5
    OH, just the tought of having to disassemble everything again............
     

    Attached Files:

  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    LeandrodaFL

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #6
    Problem solved

    Sata cable was loose, probably disconected itself from the motherboard when I plug-ing the aiport antenna. Wverything working fine
     

Share This Page