New MacPro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by thrckb, Oct 6, 2006.

  1. thrckb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #1
    3 days old and I have the same problems that I have 3 weeks ago with my old machine. The computer will not go to sleep or if it does it won't wake up. I thought I was getting some Love from Apple when they were willing to take back my old 2.7 that was having some issues, but, I am still having some of those issues on a brand new MacPro 3.0
    Called A/C they advised to take it back to the store for repair.
    This is not fun.:eek: :(

    UPDATE: Took CPU into the apple store and they was able to figure out that it was NOT the CPU - bets are being placed on the monitors powersupply brick. Boy is that a relief. I kinda want a excuse to buy the 30inch anyway and now I have one.

    UPDATE #2 Troubleshoot the problem to being an issue with the monitors power supply. I asked my manager of the local Apple store if its would be possible to trade in my old monitor and use it towards a new 30 in and pay the difference. They said "no problem" - I couldn't get to the store fast enought and now I have a 3.0 with a 30 in monitor. Life is good. THANKS APPLE
     
  2. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #3
    He means 2.7 GHz versus 3.0 GHz. :rolleyes:
     
  3. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #4
    I believe he means a dual 2.7 g5...

    Yeah get that machine repaired, that really sucks for a machine so expensive. I haven't heard of any Mac Pro lemons yet, I guess your one of the few..
     
  4. nihilisticmonk macrumors 6502

    nihilisticmonk

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    #5
    Really?

    From reading this forum I'm actually scared of getting my macpro because of all the problem threads I've spotted!

    Delving deeper into the threads does show it's a vocal minority, but it still sends a shiver down my spine....

    especially because my estimated arrival date is Friday the 13th :eek:
     
  5. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #6
    yeah sorry to hear that. hopefully they'll get you taken care of
     
  6. kered22 macrumors 6502

    kered22

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #7
    You'll be fine nihilisticmonk. :) There have been some problems as will happen with any new systems.

    As for the Friday the 13th thing... just be sure no black cats cross betweeen you and the FedEx guy when it's delivered. :D
     
  7. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #8
    Before assuming it's a bad machine, what have you installed and what hardware is attached.

    I would take it back to how you got it (Clean install, Apple mouse and keyboard, nothing else) and then see how it works.

    I actualy have a UPS that was causing my Mac Pro to reboot every time I plugged it in.
     
  8. THX1139 macrumors 68000

    THX1139

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #9
    Paranoid? Considering how many MacPros are sold, the odds of getting a bad one in non-existent. Sure, it's possible... but so is getting hit by lightning or getting in an accident driving to work. You are worrying for no reason unless you are the paranoid type.
     
  9. thrckb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #10
    I am not sorry but bummed

    I have done all that I and the applecare guy knew to do. I didn't install anything from my old machine. I did clean installs on all the programs with fresh updates (that alone took about one day) I have Final Cut, CS2, MS Office, Print Shop 2 and that's about it. I am still excite about having the new machine because I have always been a MacAddict and I have never own a PC and this is the first time I have had issues like this. None of my PC buddies can say that. I'll be taking it to the apple store tomorrow. Even though I don't NEED a MacPro I could get by with a iMac but I want to have in just in case I might need it.
     

Share This Page