New Magic Trackpad settings not showing up in System Preferences?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Imola Ghost, Aug 23, 2010.

1. macrumors 65816

I just bought a new Apple Magic Trackpad and after playing with it at the store I went into the settings to set a few things however when I got mine home and installed/paired it with the Bluetooth, I'm not showing any settings in my System Preferences for the Trackpad.

Idea?

2. macrumors 6502a

3. thread starter macrumors 65816

I'm pretty new to mac's so I don't know how to accomplish that.

In the store it was showing up under the HARDWARE section right next to the mouse icon. However I don't have that.

4. thread starter macrumors 65816

After my iMac was setting there for a moment, a window popped up saying there was a software update for the Magic Trackpad. So this probably enables the other features in the system preferences.

5. macrumors 68040

DewGuy1999

After you paired it up did you check Software Update, I think there's a OS update needed for those.

6. macrumors 6502

3lionsbecks

Yes, you got it. You need to do the update and then it will work as advertised.

7. macrumors newbie

MMullan

'had the same problem - I should have known better

-Thanks folks

8. macrumors newbie

The solutions here above did not work for me at all. Personally I think this is a very BIG blunder/flaw of Apple!

You have to manually (!!) download the software for trackpad and that will do the trick:

http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1066?viewlocale=en_US

Grtz, Rnbnoud

9. macrumors newbie

thx a lot for that thread, Rnbnoud!