New MBP + Logic 8 + Apogee Duet

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by Big Boss Man, Oct 28, 2008.

  1. Big Boss Man
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #1
    Is anyone using this combination yet? Any problems?
     
  2. MezicanGangxtah
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Location:
    Denver,CO
    #2
    All three intergrate with each other like no other its the perfect combo. If you can afford it go for it!
     
  3. Big Boss Man
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #3
    Yes, that is the idea, but is there someone here yet who is actually using Logic 8 and the Duet with a new MBP? The new MBP only has FW 800 so some sort of adapter is now needed. Perhaps a little step backward in integration. I was hoping to hear a first hand account from someone with a new MBP.
     
  4. bchamorro
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #4
    I contacted Apogee and they said there won't be any issues if you use a 400 to 800 adapter or cable.
     
  5. Big Boss Man
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #5
    Yes, I saw a statement from Apogee saying there should be no issues. I was hoping to hear from an end user though who is actually using this combination. Please post your good or bad experience with the new MBP, Logic 8, and a Duet. Thanks.
     
  6. Loge
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Loge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #6
    When my new MBP is delivered I will let you know. :)

    Apogee's e-mail and the fact that this always worked fine out of my FW800 port on my old MBP, means I'm not expecting any issues.
     
  7. bchamorro
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #7
    You guys got an Apogee from e-mail about the no FW 400 on MBP thing and compatibility of the Duet with FW800?
     
  8. Big Boss Man
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #8
  9. Big Boss Man
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #9

    That would be great. Please do report back with your results. Thanks.
     
  10. Luap
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #10
    You have nothing to be concerned about at all. The Duet is known to work fine with FW800 ports (It certainly does on my iMac FW800 port) and the Duet is also know to work very well with Logic 8. All in all it will make for a great package.
     
  11. MowingDevil
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    MowingDevil

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC & Sydney, NSW
    #11
    Even though the old MBP had 2 FW ports (8 & 400) it still had only one bus (800 which could be dummed down to 400 when that port was used). So other than removing the extra port nothing has really changed.
     

Share This Page