New MBPro w/Lion installed - create rescue?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by phillytim, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    phillytim

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #1
    Howdy guys - I'm new on the Mac-front and took the plunge with a MacBook Pro this past weekend. It already had Lion installed from the get-go.

    With all this talk about creating a restore disk or USB for Lion, I have a question: how do I create one for my Mac?

    The Apple Lion Recovery Assistant USB utility, when run, requires my to have my "recovery disk" available, but I don't have a recovery disk - there was no disk included in my MBP/Lion box!

    Thanks for the insight!
    :confused:
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #2
    The recovery disc is another partition on your hard drive
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    phillytim

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #3
    Cool....so what if one day I wish to pop in a new, bigger/faster drive in the MacBook Pro? How would I get the OS & partition over to the new drive?
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #4
    Create a recovery usb via the Apple utility or create a local install usb from the mac store dmg of Lion, both of these have been posted in the news section in the past
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #5
    Go out and get yourself a 2GB thumb drive for like $6. Then run the Lion Recovery Disk Assistant on it. You can use that thumb drive in the future to install Lion on a new Hard Drive.

    NOTE: The Lion Recovery Disk Assistant completely erases the thumb drive you use with it. BE CAREFUL, That’s why I recommend you go out and buy a thumb drive you can dedicate for this purpose.

    ----------

    Ninja Post!
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    phillytim

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #6
    A 2GB drive is big enough? Cool...thought I read it was 8GB from somewhere.

    Can we actually image the current working hard disk onto a new one without any problems, in the Apple world? I used to do this all the time in PC-land.

    I'm not sure if Apple writes any special stuff in places on the hard disk that prevents reliable imaging over to a new (bigger/different) hard disk.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #7
    2GB is big enough for the recovery and internet install boot, you'll need a 4GB if you want to create an offline reinstaller.

    Cloning a hard drive is possible yes, I don't believe in cloning disks (only sheep) so I suggest you search the forums on that topic.
     

Share This Page