Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

martinocando

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 12, 2013
For multiple reasons:
[Rant mode on]
  1. No longer my multiple magsafe2 adapters will work. BTW, the magnetic connection have been one great feature, that I'm also very sad to lose if I upgrade. I even bought a magsafe to magsafe2 adapter, so I can travel with my daughter's charger, and use it in both MBPs. Well, that's not going to happen anymore.
  2. What should I do with my thunderbolt cables and dock? I'll have to buy a new one, don't I?
  3. I use the SD card reader every day, I'm a photographer. So, I'll now have to use an external USB reader, but wait, I can't use it directly, I'll have to use a USB-C to USB adapter, and then the reader. Very cumbersome compared to what I do now, that is simply insert the card in the slot. Boom. And for those using SD card memory upgrades, they are out of luck as well.
  4. What should I do with my thunderbolt to VGA, or DVI adapters? They won't work either. And I can't hook it directly to the company projectors, I'll have to run around with an adapter too, like all the Windows users do. They'll laugh at me very hard :(
[Rant mode off]

Other than that, I like the design, the keyboard looks great and the touchbar have great potential. So, did Apple officially got rid of the glowing apple sign? That's a bit sad, don't you think? I know it was a useless feature, but it was kind of a statement. Well, I can live with that. No biggie.

Anyone else having the same issues?

andreyush

macrumors 6502a
Oct 24, 2015
Keep your mid-2015 macbook pro. It will keep you a long time for now :p. Enjoy it and hope that Apple will come with something better next time. If not... buy their products or move to windows.