New MBPs DO NOT have an 802.11n card !

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ilkevinli, Oct 27, 2006.

  1. ilkevinli macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    In case anyone was wondering, the new MacBook Pros don't have an 802.11n wireless card. The drivers for the Dlink 650 card do work, however it only connects at 54mbps and my throughput test with qcheck come back with an actual throughput test of approx. 22mbps. Thats with the Linksys WRT350N router.
     
  2. Zadillo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    #2
    Just because it doesn't connect to your linksys router doesn't mean much at all though, really. There are plenty of competing draft-N cards out there and they aren't going to specifically connect to others at N speeds.

    Either way, the device ID itself already confirms that it is an Atheros draft-N card.
     
  3. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #3
    The drivers wouldn't work if it weren't an 802.11n card. It is.
     
  4. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    It should work under vista I think, and possibly leopard, but it is not built into OSX 10.4 tiger.
     
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    Odd that they went with the Atheros card in the notebook and the Broadcom Intensi-fi card in the iMac.

    Should say something about both the Broadcom and Atheros cards not having too many problems working together.
     
  6. ilkevinli thread starter macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Thats not true at all and you obviciously don't know how drivers work. This card is nothing more than a 802.11g wrieless card.

    P.S. It connects to my router fine. Just at the 802.11g speeds.

     
  7. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    ********. If it were 802.11g it would have a different chipset and Windows would throw a "Code 10" driver error.
     
  8. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #8
    Until the draft n devices have the firmware update they will run at 802.11g speeds regardless.Soon as the firmware is updated the speeds will increase.
     
  9. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #9
    I've played with the pre-n Linksys router and PCMCIA card and they definitely were not running at 802.11g. The 'final/draft' spec should increase interoperability between vendors but calling them 802.11g is not really accurate.
     
  10. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #10
    My post was a generalization treblah :)

    Actually I've found that my C2D iMac not only runs a little faster but has a much better signal.Distancewise.

    Just saying all this 802.11n draft stuff really depends on the O/S and the hardware used.But when the firmwares are updated there will be a speed increase if one is using the same draft gear.
     
  11. mdntcallr macrumors 65816

    mdntcallr

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    it is a draft N card. just because it didnt work yet on your workaround, a noble try though, doesnt mean that when apple finally releases the update it wont be N.

    i have faith that by macworld's end it will be out.
     
  12. Zadillo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    #12
    Isn't that supposed to be the point of 802.11n anyway? Not even so much increased speeds, but much better signals and range?
     
  13. ilkevinli thread starter macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    I don't know why some of you keep saying "just because it doesn't work for you/on your equipment". It WORKS fine. :D Just only at 802.11g speeds (54mbps).

    What "update" are you talking about ? Driver update ? There is no "magic" driver that is somehow going to turn "on" the 802.11n function. It either has it, or it doesn't.

     
  14. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #14
    Gotcha.

    At work we've got a few C2D iMacs and get pretty good signal. Farther away from the router than the MB/MBPs yet equal bars in Internet Connect.app. Heres to 10.4.9 letting the n come out and play. ;)
     
  15. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #15
    I believe he was referring to a "firmware" update.;)
     
  16. psycho bob macrumors 6502a

    psycho bob

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    #16
    They haven't said driver they have said firmware updates. It is very easy to disable features via firmware. And actually is it possible to limit via software. Airport base stations can be limited to speeds slower than g should the administrator demand it. Drivers allow equipment to interface they don't necessarily turn on all functions. Epson print drivers are a great example of this; in OS9 I could do all the same things I could under Win XP but in OSX I cannot access some features even though the driver is the same.
     
  17. Xeem macrumors 6502a

    Xeem

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #17
    This reminds me of the Linksys 802.11g PCMCIA card I had in my Titanium PB G4. The card was a 54 Mbps card, but Panther would read it as a standard 802.11b Airport card (possibly because the PB only had an Airport slot, not Airport Extreme). When I plugged the same card into my dad's aluminum PBG4, Panther read it as an Airport Extreme card.
     
  18. divigation macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    #18
    Help with Drivers

    I can't get my wireless card to work in XP, no matter what the card is. Upfront, let me admit my heavy ignorance to things XP. I have been strictly Mac since Win2k and have just started using XP on my MBP CoreDuo, where everything worked great the moment I finished installing the Mac drivers. Now that I hace my MBP C2D, I cannot get the wifi to work. I downloaded the D-link file that has been referred to numerous times and ran the setup file that is with the drivers. After a restart, the card is still not being recognized and I am sure there is something simple for me to do to get everyone else's results, but I do not know what it is. If someone with success with this thing could help me out with some instructions, I would greatly appreciate it!

    Thanks.
    Grant.
     
  19. ilkevinli thread starter macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #19
    What you have to do is:
    1. Go in to the device manager (right-click on My Computer and select Manage).
    2. Then double click on the wireless card.
    3. Click on the driver tab.
    4. Click Update Driver.
    5. Browse to the folder with the d-link drivers. Hit next.

    That should instal the drivers.

     
  20. divigation macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    #20
    Ha. I knew it was something extremely simple. I appreciate your help!
     
  21. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #21
    yeah, in XP you HAVE to tell the OS to update the drivers. OSX, download them, install, restart... jobs a good 'un
     

Share This Page