New Modem Dirt Slow Internet

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by Dmac77, May 30, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68020

    Dmac77

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    Hi all,

    We just grabbed a new modem today (Motorola SURFboard SB6120), it's DOCSIS 3.0 certified, and yet my internet connection is way slower than it was with my old DOCSIS 2.0 modem. I was getting close to 12 Mb/s (the speed I'm paying for), and now when I run a speed test, the fastest download speed that I'm able to get is 0.78 Mb/s. There has to be something wrong here. I called Comcast registered the modem with the, and all that crap; so I don't know what to do. Any ideas?

    Thanks,

    Don
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Dmac77

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    After spending the past hour on the phone with Comcast (gag me), the issue has been resolved. For some reason, the first person I dealt with had screwed something up that made the system think I had their economy package (AKA slow as hell package). I'm back up and running, and my speeds are better than they were before. Mods feel free to delete this post.

    Don
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #3
    Can I ask why you updated your modem in the first place? I've had a (time warner supplied) cable modem for probably 3-4 years now and never bothered to look at a new one.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    Advancements in modem technology and cable service.

    My previous linksys modem could not hold high sustained rates, this was even after getting it replaced. It simply couldn't hold sustained speeds. I upgraded to a new one, the CM100, and it can hold high sustained rates.

    If you have a docsis 2.0 modem, you can't take advantage of docsis 3.0 speeds.

    I have seen people with modems from the stone age paying for speeds the modem wasn't capable of. Not to say this was the OPs case, but the cable company will let you sit on old tech forever. Especially if you are paying a monthly rental fee.
     
  5. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    grrr bloody user error :mad:

    glad you got it sorted OP.
     

Share This Page