New monitor works w/ PC but not Mac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by JarinS1, Aug 14, 2006.

  1. JarinS1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #1
    I just purchased an LG 19" widescreen monitor which works very nicely with a Dell laptop. However, I can't get it to work with my 12" 1.2GHz iBook. Any ideas? I have connected it using the adapter and selected "Detect Display" to no avail. Please help. Thank you.

    JS
     
  2. nutman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
  3. tipdrill407 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #3
    what's happening?? do you get a blank screen with the LG?? Are you using VGA or DVI??
     
  4. JarinS1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #4
    I am using the VGA adapter and the screen switches to "Power Save Mode" when I remove the adapter. Because of this, I believe the monitor recognizes the connection, but there is no output. Is there a key I need to push similar to the ALT+CRT/LCD on the PC? Thanks.

    JS
     
  5. spinne1 macrumors 6502a

    spinne1

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN USA (near Nashville)
  6. jne381 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    Grand Rapids
    #6
    When I hooked up a second display to my PowerMac, through a DVI adaptor to the ADC, It would not work. I restarted a few times, and it eventually started to work. I don't know why, but it did. I have not had a problem since.

    So anyway, try restarting your computer a few times, and maybe it will just start to recognize that the display is connected.
     
  7. JarinS1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #7
    Thanks for the advice. Unfortunately, I have tried to restart the computer numerous times but it doesn't seem to be working. The screen remains black on the monitor and there is no sign of a monitor being hooked up in my iBook's preferences. Does anyone know if LG monitors are compatible with Macs? I went to the LG site and the only drivers available are for Windows. Any other ideas out there? Thanks.
     
  8. heehee macrumors 68020

    heehee

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    Same country as Santa Claus
    #8
    My LG works with a Mac Mini.
     
  9. tipdrill407 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #9
    Have you tried your VGA adapter with some other monitor to make sure the adapter is not defective??
     
  10. spinne1 macrumors 6502a

    spinne1

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN USA (near Nashville)
    #10
    Yes, LGs will work with Macs. Have you installed and run the script I linked for you? (you did not say) What I suspect is happening is the following:

    1. Your iBook's standard configuration is to only mirror the internal monitor rather than allow for a second independent monitor.

    2. As such, your iBook's default resolution does not match a resolution that your LG monitor is set to display (particularly since your iBook's screen is not widescreen and the LG's is).

    3. Thus, you have a black screen.

    This limitation formerly was overcome by using a "spanning hack." (Google it, I don't know the details). But now, I believe the script I have linked for you eliminates the need for the spanning hack (meaning to hack your firmware--that much I do know).

    Solution? Read my other post and install the script I linked at the end of the post. If that does not work, you likely have a hardware problem or adapter problem or you need to do the old-fashioned "spanning hack." (http://www.macaddict.com/forums/topic/44990)
     
  11. JarinS1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #11
    Still not working :(

    Thanks for the advice. Unfortunately, this did not solve the problem. Here is the chain of events...

    1) Turn monitor on. After several seconds, the blue light is on indicating the power is on. The monitor says, "Check Signal Cable."

    2) With one end of the cable plugged into the monitor, I plug the other end into the adapter, which is NOT connected to the computer. The monitor reads "Analog - Power Saving Mode" and then goes black with the blue light turning to an amber color.

    3) I plug the adapter into the computer but nothing changes.

    4) I unplug the cable from the adapter and the monitor goes back to reading "Check Signal Cable" and the light changes from amber to blue.

    ANY IDEAS???
     
  12. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #12
    I bet your cable is messed up. Do you happen to have a second, or does a friend have one that you could test out?
     
  13. JarinS1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #13
    Well, I don't think it's the cable b/c I used the same cable with the PC and it worked. Do you mean the adapter? Thanks for your help.
     
  14. spinne1 macrumors 6502a

    spinne1

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN USA (near Nashville)
    #14
    On Macs, I believe you have to start the computer with the cable already connected to the computer in order for it to see the monitor. Try booting up the Mac with the external on and connected to the Mac. (after you have installed the script of course)
     
  15. FullmetalZ26 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    #15
    Yeah, he means the adapter. See if you can find someone that can lend you theirs long enough to verify that your problemd doesn't lie with that adapter. From what I've read on setting Apple notebooks up with external monitors and such, you might try putting it to sleep and then plugging it in. Probably won't help (as you've tried the restart), but it's easy enough to try.
     
  16. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #16
    Shouldn't have to. I've been trying various things on my Mini to get my big screen working with it. I've tried 5 different monitors/TVs with 3 different cable types. (DVI, VGA, video) Never had to reboot or sleep or anything, not even when swapping between a straight DVI cable and the DVI-VGA adapter. Some things worked, some didn't, but booting hasn't been an issue.
     
  17. JarinS1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #17
    Thanks everyone for keeping the optimism alive. This morning, I decided I was going to try to play with it again to see if I could get it to work. The monitor was off and the computer was on. One end of the cable was plugged into the monitor and I plugged the other end into the computer (via the adapter). My computer screen started flickering. Then, I turned on the monitor and it worked! However, I have two issues:

    1) The native resolution of the monitor is 1440 x 900. This is not an option with the script (thanks for the link spinne1!). Does the Screen Spanning Doctor allow this resolution?

    2) There is a vertical line in the monitor that is a pink and blue color - it appears to be about 1 pixel in width. This line runs the entire height of the monitor. Is it possible to get rid of this? Could the script be causing this line?

    Thanks again for everyone's help.

    JS
     
  18. gruv07 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    #18
    I've been having the same problem with my LG 19" Flatron, computer starts up and the monitor goes into Analog power saving mode.... after fiddling around with another CRT tubed monitor to get the screen back working, I figured out that the LG LCD does not like to startup at my highest resolution at 1360 x 768 | 60Hz

    What now works for me is before shutting down the computer go into your properties/
    system prefs. change your monitor resolution down to 1024 x 768 | 75Hz, so the next time you startup the refresh rate with play nice with the monitor thus turning on.

    It's a pain in the butt to remember this every time you shutdown, but it works.
    Or you might want to see if there's a firmware update for your computer or monitor.
     

Share This Page