New/Old Mac and im stuck

Discussion in 'macOS' started by azureus, Aug 16, 2006.

  1. azureus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, England
    #1
    hi all, jut to let ya know abit about me. used PC's for ages. im resonable wth windows and have dabbled with linux. decided to go for a mac on a budget. i got an old G3 B/W cheap. but it had no HDD. i also got an old 30GB hard drive. where do i go from here. i know its a bit vague but i have no idea what i need to do next. all help is much apreciated. thx in advance

    :) :) :)
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Do you have a MacOS disc? I'd install the disk, start up from the MacOS disc (hold C), format the drive and install the MacOS. :)
     
  3. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #3
    Man mj, you're all over the place. Making up for lost time these last three days? :cool:
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  5. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #5
    Some people only post 31 times in six months, not 3 hours :)
     
  6. azureus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, England
    #6
    no i dont have any disks, one of my friends has an old mac she upgraded to os x could i use the old classic 9 cd she had or would i need to get some new ones. if the latter where could i get some/ how woud i get some. im guessing its not freeware yet!
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    It's not freeware yet and I don't think Classic will work (to the best of my knowledge). You may be able to get a cheap copy from eBay though. :)

    Alternatively, you could put a free flavour of PPC Linux on it. I haven't done this and wouldn't know where to begin but someone else may be able to help if you're interested. :)
     
  8. azureus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, England
    #8
    thanks for the help. i took ya advice and installed a ppc distro of linux. all is good (exept a few tething problems)

    thanks again
     
  9. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

    thewhitehart

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    The town without George Bailey
    #9
    You should most definitely go get a copy of mac os to put on your new mac if you are brand new to macs. I use linux, so I'm not one to knock it, but you could put linux on any old pc. Macs need Mac OSes, or they're not happy. Kind of like a tamogotchi if you forget to feed it.

    OS 7.0.1 is free from Apple. Then again, I am most certain that the G3 may not support booting into it, and it is from 1991... but it's got a calculator and a slide-puzzle!! :D
     

Share This Page