New parallel update any good?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by bloodycape, Oct 14, 2006.

  1. bloodycape macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #1
    Is the new parallel update worth downloading? Does it offer better windows support? Parallel just told me to update.
     
  2. aleni macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #2
    i have used the last update since they sent me an email telling about this. its been fine till now.

    i suggest u to update it.
     
  3. Mac cymru macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #3
    First post, I am a new convert to macs, still having to use some Windows programmes though !!, hopefully not for too long.

    Just to say I downloaded the latest version of parallels onto my 24" imac last night and it works like a dream so far. What is interesting though is that I can move the cursor across the screen out of Windows into OS X without having to press any keys as instructed and can open any OS X programme and vice versa.
     
  4. daveporter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Green Cove Springs, FL
    #4
    I purchased and installed it for the first time Friday. I am running it on a standard configuration Mac Pro except that I have 2 GB of RAM. Parallels Desktop is running very well and I have not yet encountered any problem of any kind. I putchased it to primarilly run AutoCad 2000 and Agent 4 news reader. The both run at near full speed and appear to operate just as they did on a PC.

    I think that Parallels Desktop is a great solution if you need to just run a couple of Windows applications along with your Mac.

    Dave
     
  5. aleni macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #5
    hell yeah, my macbook is loaded with 2gigs of ram as well. parallels has done a great job making this app. it flies just like the real windows without emulation, though dont expect it for gaming.

    Mac cymru: yeah, i like that as well, having the cursor move on the fly without needing the ctrl-alt combination buttons to move over within the OS.
     
  6. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    The feature where the mouse is synchronized in both OS's has been a part of the program since nearly the beggining. It requires that you install Parallels Tools, and was not intrduced as of the latest update.

    I had a couple stability problems with the update, so I'm just going to use the latest beta for now.. Using the latest update usually is the best solution and I'd suggest that, however.
     

Share This Page