New Parallels Beta2 available

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Bern, Dec 21, 2006.

  1. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Some of the changes are:-

    As usual if you're a current Parallels owner get the new Beta2 HERE from the Parallels website.
     
  2. scott523 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    St Charles, MO
    #2
    Hm looks good but it's still missing the graphics support that Boot Camp has over Parallels.
     
  3. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #3
    This will almost certainly always be the case. You can't have both the OS and a program within the OS trying to directly control the video hardware; and the video hardware doesn't have any sort of virtualization support layer available (like the newest processors do).

    For what I need, virtualization works just fine - and it's certainly more convenient.
     
  4. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #4

    Parallels is working on it. And I believe VMWare had some experimental work on it (though dont quote me on that).

    Video virtualization will be available in version 3, sometime early next year.
     
  5. mith macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc, Canada
    #5
    i am downlaoding it now

    is it more stable then beta 1?? am using beta 1 now for 1 week plus, it'z good just a little bit more of stability then all good. did anyone try it yet>>> quick analysis?
     
  6. Nightkrawler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #6
    could anyone upload/mirror it for me?
    please? :eek:

    Parallels site is down due the high demand.
    www.rapidshare.com would be ok

    edit:
     
  7. weldon macrumors 6502a

    weldon

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #7
    This sounds great. The FAT32 support and activation problems were what turned me off from using Parallels with a Boot Camp partition, but that seems to be solved.

    I also like the USB2.0 and direct SuperDrive support.
     
  8. mith macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc, Canada
    #8
    5 mins remaining

    i was wondering , is there a new parallel tools also to be downloaded???
     
  9. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #9
    Anyone know how exactly they solved this issue?
     
  10. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #10
    Probably something along the lines of keeping the Parallels drivers loaded even though they might not do anything when booted to BC.

    B
     
  11. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #12
    It doesn't work. :( I get the error "Unable to open disk image Boot Camp!"
     
  12. Nightkrawler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #13
    Could anyone who got "booting from the bootcamp partition" working post the configuration file of the virtual machine? i mean the *.pvs file.

    I need it because i still cant choose my bootcamp partition (this is because i have 3 partitions, one for osx, one FAT32 for files only and one NTFS for windows)
    Parallels just doesn't recognize my windows partition :(
     
  13. Deputy-Dawg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    #14
    Worked fine for me on my shiny new MBP. Beginners luck? Not really I was one of those caught up in the infinite loop problem with the previous beta! Did you see the note to boot into Boot Camp XP and remove the previously installed Parallels tools? If you did not do this (asssuming you installed the previous beta) this maybe your problem.
     
  14. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #15
    I'm kinda bummed that with the new USB2.0 support, BlackBerrys still aren't detected, but ... everything else is really awesome! :)
     
  15. Deputy-Dawg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    #16
    Heres what mine looks like!

    [System]
    Parallels VM Name = Microsoft Windows XP
    VM Id = {########-#####-####-#############}
    VM Description =
    OS Type = 135
    Memory = 512
    Memory block size = 10
    Video Memory = 16
    Acceleration level = 2
    Enable write-back disk cache = 1
    Start auto = 0
    AutoShutdown = 0
    Start full screen = 0
    Start full screen warning = 1
    Start dashmode = 0
    PC Speaker enable = 1
    Boot = c
    [Floppy disks]
    Floppy 0 enabled = 1
    Floppy 0 = 1
    Floppy 0 image = /Library/Parallels/Tools/vmtools.fdd
    Floppy 0 connected = 0
    [IDE devices]
    Disk 0:0 enabled = 1
    Disk 0:0 = 1
    Disk 0:0 media = 1
    Disk 0:0 connected = 1
    Disk 0:0 heads = 0
    Disk 0:0 sectors = 0
    Disk 0:0 image = Boot Camp
    Disk 0:0 cylinders = 0
    Disk 0:1 enabled = 1
    Disk 0:1 = 2
    Disk 0:1 media = 1
    Disk 0:1 image = Default CD/DVD-ROM
    Disk 0:1 connected = 1
    Disk 1:0 enabled = 0
    Disk 1:0 = 0
    Disk 1:1 enabled = 0
    Disk 1:1 = 0
    [Sound]
    Sound enabled = 1
    Sound = 1
    Sound connected = 1
    Sound device = Default Audio
    Mixer device = Default Audio
    [Network]
    Network enabled = 1
    Network connected = 1
    Network = 1
    Adapter No = 0
    Adapter name = Default Adapter
    Adapter type = 4
    Port = 0x00000300
    IRQ = 3
    MAC address = ############
    [Usb]
    USB enabled = 1
    USB = 1
    USB autoconnect = 0

    Where I have replaced the digits in the VM Id and the device MAC address with #s.
     
  16. Nightkrawler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #17
    Thanks! But it didnt worked :(
    (i needed the Disk 0:0 part)
    Parallels seems to look in one hardcoded volumepath or so when it trys to boot from bootcamp.
     
  17. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #18
    That would have been my first thought, but I never installed the previous beta.

    When I try to start the VM, I see my Boot Camp partition unmount from the desktop momentarily... then Parallels throws up that error. Doesn't appear to have modified any files on the partition. I hope at least it wouldn't have messed up my XP install.
     
  18. Scottyk9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #19
    This has happened to me with the previous beta. Trying again has resolved the issue for me - is this a persistant error?
     
  19. Deputy-Dawg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    #20
    Hmmmmm. Maybe it was dumb luck. I didn't like the ugly appearance of the "Untitled Disk" that contained the Boot Camp partition on my desk top. I mean I couldn't write to it, reading it was a mess. So I booted into XP in Boot Camp and renamed the C: Local Disk to C: .Local Disk (note the addition of the period, dot, call it what you will as the first character in the name). Now partition is invisible in the Mac enviroment, and I assume it is not mounted. So couple of things you might try. First dismount the partitiion before you start Parallels. If that doesn't work try renaming your Local Disk under Boot Camp as I did. Just add the dot, period as the first character of its name.

    Let me know how you make out.
     
  20. thebeephaha macrumors 6502

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    #21
    Same here. UGH. :mad: :rolleyes: :confused:

    [​IMG]
     
  21. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #22
    Yes.

    Maybe I'll try renaming it later. I did try unmounting it before starting the VM, no luck.
     
  22. Deputy-Dawg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    #23
    Try Changing your Network Adapter from "Shared networking" to "Bridged networking"
     
  23. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #24
    the windows activation is gone but not for any of the other microsoft programs, such as office apps (as in i have to reactivate each time i switch from bootcamp to parallels). any ideas?
     
  24. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #25
    I imagine they'll be able to improve the video performance this way, maybe significantly; but it'll be like running VMware on processors a few generations ago - meaning they're still going to have to intercept and translate all the calls, emulating a virtual interface in software. Using that model it'll never get close to "native" speeds (not that, for most programs, it matters much).

    I wonder if graphic card manufacturers will, at some point, add hardware support for virtualization the way the CPU manufacturers have done? That'd be the real solution.
     

Share This Page