New Paul McCartney CD from Best Buy

Discussion in 'iPod' started by masterjedi73, Oct 13, 2005.

  1. masterjedi73 macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #1
    Hey Everyone -

    I just got the new PM CD and it has a free download of another track. The problem is that it is in WMA format, and it says it requires a license that my version of Windows Media Player doesn't have. (v. 9 for mac). Any ideas on how to get this file to play? I've tried every program I've got, including sound converter.

    thanks!
     
  2. jholzner macrumors 65816

    jholzner

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Champaign, IL
    #2
    You'll have to download it on a Windows computer then burn it to a CD and then rip it on to your mac. Microsoft refuses to update the mac version of WMP to support much of anything.
     
  3. masterjedi73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #3
    That stinks. There's got to be some way around it.....
     
  4. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #4
    p-p-p-p-ira....
     
  5. unfaded macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    Yes, if you care to program the way around it yourself.

    Cracking the digital rights management of one of America's wealthiest companies with a large, large legal team isn't very high up on most people's lists.
     
  6. the_freddinator macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Location:
    SE PA
    #6
    At the same time, Apple refuses to develop (or release) a codec in iTunes that will convert protected wmas...
     
  7. jholzner macrumors 65816

    jholzner

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Champaign, IL
    #7
    I'm not sure that they legally can do such a thing. The best they could do would be to support WMP DRM which isn't going to happen.
     
  8. masterjedi73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #8
    I just brought it to work and did it on my Dell here. It's a pain, though, that MS won't update WMP for us to get the licenses. Something should be done about that.
     
  9. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #9
    Doe it say onthe packaging that the bonus track requires a Windows computer with WMP9?

    If not, take the CD back. That's false advertising to claim that it has a bonus track.
     
  10. masterjedi73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #10
    No...it didn't say anything on the packaging at all. But when I opened it, there was a certificate with a code on it for the track.

    still, it didn't say it had to be a specific OS. It just gave the web address and the code.

    good track though. one of the better ones on (or off) the cd
     

Share This Page