New PB...Spotlight not working

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Ryvius, Oct 22, 2005.

  1. Ryvius macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    #1
    This is odd:

    I just transfered all my files from the old PB to the new one. Documents, music, etc, etc. Everytime I try to search in Spotlight it can't find anything, just system files. Its like the contents of the HD aren't being indexed, but I thought OSX did that automatically and I can't find an option to do it manually.

    Anyone encounter something like this before?

    Its really annoying!
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    How long since you transferred the files? It can take a while to initially index sometimes. It's just a one-off index thankfully.

    If you want, go to System Preferences and under the Spotlight tab, select the Privacy tab. From there, add (using the plus sign) your hard drive and close System Preferences. Now do the same but this time take your hard drive off of the Privacy list. This should reindex everything for you but I doubt it'll be necessary.

    It took me about an hour and a half to index 120GB of files on my iMac G5.
     
  3. DeSnousa macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #3
    When you first use a new computer and transfer data. OSX needs to index all of the files which takes time. Just pour a cup of tea and relax.
     
  4. DeSnousa macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #4
    Thankfully you don't, my friend is using msn search or something made by Microsoft. Every time he turns on his computer it needs to index :rolleyes:
     
  5. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #5

    Grooosssssss!!!

    Does the Google toolbar do the same thing? I'm thinking of putting it on the windows desktop for my momma....
     
  6. Ryvius thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    #6
    Its been about three hours since I transfered things over. Still nothing...I've restarted the machine twice during that time.
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7

    Serious? :eek:

    Isn't that the one that costs money too? :(

    Tell him to try Google Desktop Search instead. It works pretty well for me.
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8

    Just let it sit for a while. Hopefully the restarts didn't mess with the indexing. I doubt they did. :)
     
  9. DeSnousa macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #9
    Yep its funny as, because I go to use his computer. So I turn it on, about an hour later of using the computer a message pops up saying that the files have been indexed and the app is ready to be used :rolleyes: Convenient no.

    No its a free app and I have told him about Google, but he doesn't really care.
     

Share This Page