NEW powerbook accessory advice please...

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by NewMacConvertee, Oct 23, 2005.

1. NewMacConvertee macrumors newbie

I just bought a new powerbook 15" (MY FIRST MAC EVER!) and i'm wondering if anyone can suggest a good bag so i'm able to tote this thing around with me. I am a student so i really need a lot of extra space for my books and such. I've come across a couple of shoulder bags on Apple's website, but it's hard to tell much from a picture. Anyone ever used an STM or Timbuk2 shoulder bag with their laptop? How's the durability, storage capacity, etc.

One other question - how well do the Kensington notebook locks work? I'm always away from home with my laptop and have never worried about it being out of my sight while out in public (because it's an old piece of crap Toshiba). With my powerbook i will be much less inclined to just leave it lying around out in public. Any suggestions?

2. Temujin macrumors 6502a

Temujin

My Kesington lock and my old Acer worked fine. Didn't have a chance to try it though (greatfully). With my Acer the lock hocked up to the metal "skeleton" inside the outer shell. If that is the case with the PB I can not say. But if it is, it should be pretty hard to break IMO.
    But every lock is breakable. See it as a timedelay the theif has against him.

3. BlueT macrumors member

Don't bother buying a specific bag. There aren't that many to choose from and you get more options if you buy a sleeve (like one from MarWare, for instance) and then buy any bag that fits the sleeve.

4. Bern macrumors 68000

Bern

5. maddav macrumors 6502

maddav

Your best bet is to buy a nice big messenger bag, then buy a nice soft zippable sleeve so you can just chuck the PowerBook in the bag, along with your books etc.

6. madtodaimax macrumors member

i put it in a zippable puch i bought at fry's for about $20. that is put in my northface bag with my books. nothing too fancy, but its simple and it works.