New Powerbook issues ...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by EGT, Jun 25, 2004.

1. EGT macrumors 68000

EGT

hi There
    My brother just bought a powerbook. Its a flying machine, a bit like mine :D
    Anyway, I’m having great difficulty connecting to a wireless network where i work. With my p'book i just had to turn on airport and knock all the proxy settings off (didnt work with them on) and it was fine. I've been using it without problems for a few months now, in fact im on it right now.
    Every time i load up explorer on his machine there is an error saying "The specified server could not be found." I've tried different sites on his computer with no joy but they work fine on mine. I'm sorry to be so vague, i'm not really an expert on this type of thing. Ohh, I set up the same network settings on his computer that are on mine, would that cause any difficulty? … if not what could be the reason for it not connecting up?

Another thing i've noticed is that his screen hinge is super smooth, it opens and closes really gently but mine is so violent. It sticks, clicks, grunts etc like its about to fall apart :( I thought this was normal but im beginning to think its about to give in and dangle off :eek:

Worried EGT... :confused: :eek: :(

Thanks all the same :cool: :)

Attached Files:

2. EGT thread starter macrumors 68000

EGT

3. Elbeano macrumors regular