New Powerbooks?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by strether66, Aug 10, 2005.

1. strether66 macrumors newbie

Aug 10, 2005

I'm a student needing a new PowerBook. I have an older one that works okay, but the display is having a few problems and it would cost like $700 to fix.

Does anyone know the status on the new line of PowerBooks? The Buyer's Guide on MacRumors says the average cycle is over, and now is not the time to buy.

What do you think?
  2. Chrispy macrumors 68020

Dec 27, 2004
    Avon, IN
    If you need one then go for it. If not, then wait it out as the updates are coming soon. I just ordered one becuase I don't see the update being anything major. However, if you can wait then do it.
  3. topher macrumors member

May 1, 2004
    You're probably safe

There are 2 reasons why I'd say that all bets are off when it comes to the buyer's guide.

1) The intel transition throws a severe monkey wrench in the possible regularity of product updates. I wouldn't go as far as to say that the powerbooks won't be upgraded again until there is an intel inside (though many on this forum might), but I think the paradigm shift in roadmap has taken some of the validity out of monitoring "average update cycles."

2) It also seems that apple is steering toward less regular and less frequent updates in general. This may be a side-effect of my first reason, and may be temporary, but I think we've been busting past averages on a lot of the product lines in the last 12-18 month. This is mostly a gut feeling.

What the next 400 posters behind me will say: "If you need one, buy one" is actually probably pretty true with the powerbooks right now.
  4. Chrispy macrumors 68020

Dec 27, 2004
    Avon, IN
    I could not agree more
  5. tristan macrumors 6502a

Jul 19, 2003
    high-rise in beautiful bethesda