New Predictions

Discussion in 'Hardware Rumors' started by rice_web, Aug 14, 2002.

1. rice_web macrumors 6502a

rice_web

I earlier stated that we'd se "awesome" G4s on the 13th, and G5s in January. I'm already revising my predictions, but not by much. Here it goes:

January - March
    - G5s are released, top out at 1.5GHz

Yeah, I'm sticking with G5s in the roadmap. There is one other thing. With the PowerMacs in dual-only configs, this allows the iMac to scale beyond the highest clocked PowerMac, given it sports only one processor. The iMac will see 1GHz soon.

2. etoiles macrumors 6502a

etoiles

yeah, way to go ! The show must go on...need new rumors.

etoiles:"Hi, my name is etoiles..."
    circle:"Hi etoiles !"
    etoiles:"I have been checking out mac rumors every day for at least two months."
    circle:"ooooooooooh (sad)"
    etoiles:"but, with your help, I know I can quit !"
    circle:"yeah, you go etoiles" (applause, encouragements etc.)
    etoiles:"right now, I am going to...ah...ummmm...a, screw it, I am out of here"

the moral of the story ? Bring it on, I want my rumors !

:p

3. chills macrumors newbie

My opinion about Powerbook updates:

I don't believe we will see a Powerbook change for sometime. Because Apple has dropped Moto (evident with the use of the old chips) the powerbook motherboard will need a complete redesign to handle new cpus and ddr ram. Chances are the 1ghz chip is too HOT to make it in the Titanium. I know we won't see the DDR because this requires a G4 chip overclocked. This thing would melt through your clothes. I believe a new powerbook is not going to happen for sometime. They might add a better graphics chip and make other small changes, MAYBE a superdrive but I would bet they won't ship a new PowerBook for a LONG TIME!!!

Chills

4. rice_web thread starter macrumors 6502a

rice_web

Couldn't IBM add their new vector processing to the 750FX and call it the 750FXe? That would be a great processor for the TiBook.