New Ram causes issues with iBook: Your help please.

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by 18thTomorrow, Nov 10, 2004.

  1. 18thTomorrow macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    The Alpha Quadrant
    #1
    Hello,
    Today I tried to install a new 256mb ram chip into my g4 ibook. The specs of the chip are:

    Corsair 256mb 200-pin 333mhz DDR SO-DIMM

    When I installed the chip and turned on the computer, it started to boot but then the screen darkened and came up with the "you need to restart your computer. Hold down the power button..." dialog. I tried 3 times.

    Can anybody tell me what's wrong? I took the new chip out and now it acts fine again. Is this the correct chip? Am I putting it in wrong?
     
  2. JOD8FY macrumors 6502a

    JOD8FY

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    It may just be a bad stick of RAM. I don't know if it's a compatibility issue, check Apple's site. If it is bad RAM, call the company and usually they'll replace it with no hassle.

    Good luck,
    JOD8FY
     
  3. 18thTomorrow thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    The Alpha Quadrant
    #3
    I'm pretty sure it's good. I got it from a friend who used it in his computer, but recently bought a larger stick.
     
  4. JOD8FY macrumors 6502a

    JOD8FY

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    Well, you could try running the Apple Hardware Test CD that came with your computer to see if it picks up anything. I've never used it, but if you have to boot from it, just hold down the "c" key as the computer is booting up.

    JOD8FY
     
  5. Macmaniac macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #5
    It may have worked in his computer but OS X can be picky about RAM, this is a sure sign of bad RAM, try taking it out and see what happens, if it does not crash then its the RAM.
     
  6. Melvin Furd macrumors member

    Melvin Furd

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Location:
    Somewhere in the World
    #6
    It's probably the ram. When I had my Ibook, I tried putting in new ram twice , both times I ran into the same problem you did. When I put back my old ram it worked. OSX is selective on the RAM
     
  7. thom1301 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #7
    I noticed you said it was 333 speed, but everywhere I've looked, the iBook calls for 266. Is that a problem, or is having the faster memory okay?
     
  8. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #8
    Here are the complete specs for a new iBooks RAM requirements.

    DDR PC2100 • CL=2.5 or 3 • Unbuffered • Non-parity • DDR266 • 2.5V

    Most of the time you can run faster RAM without issue but this is not always the case.

    If you want to know everything Apple publishes about the RAM requirements on your iBook follow this link.

    http://developer.apple.com/document.../apple_ref/doc/uid/TP40001480-CH208-TPXREF102
     
  9. 18thTomorrow thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    The Alpha Quadrant
    #9
    Thanks for the info, MacBandit. That's helpful. By all accounts, the chip should work in my machine.
    I guess i must conclude that it's a faulty chip/picky OS issue. Bummer, 'cause I really don't have the cash to go out and purchase one and seeing as this chip isn't brand new, there's no way we could get it mfr. replaced.
     

Share This Page