new room setup advice needed

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by joe90, Jul 7, 2006.

1. joe90 macrumors member

Jan 24, 2005
    firstly, apologies for long post...

I’m a student looking to sort out my room set-up for next year. I currently have a 15” Powerbook, resting on a iCurve, with a Bluetooth mouse and keyboard. However, I want to change my setup for a number of reasons. Firstly, I am finding the 15” screen too restrictive and want more desktop space. This is because I want to be able to watch TV in my room and also have more windows visible. I also want to play DVDs on a larger screen. My girlfriend is also moving down to London next year so I want to be able to videochat to her. There may also be a chance that I will want to be hook up a Gamecube or slimline PS2 to the setup. Another factor to consider is lack of deskspace I will have next year, which means the smaller the space that the setup and cables etc. take up, the better. Portability is also a factor as I will be travelling on the train a lot next year. Price is not the most important factor but I will not want to be spending more than £2000.

If you could check out the various options for my future setup below, read my pros and cons and add ones I may have missed out or even extra options I should consider, I would be very grateful. Thanks in advance…

NB. The prices below are either student prices from Apple, a trusted seller on eBay or elsewhere on the net, or from a friend. “~” denotes an estimate. I have not included the price for the tv hardware as it will be bought whatever option I choose. If anyone could give advice on the best products to hook-up tv to the mac in uk using freeview and being able to record shows that would be fantastic too.

NB 2. I don’t like the new Macbooks so don’t bother suggesting them as an option.

Option One:

Retain 15” Powerbook 1.67GHz Superdrive, 1GB RAM, 100GB HD, 128Mb Graphics w/ Dual-link DVI, AP, BT
    Upgrade w/ 1GB RAM £92.83