New scanner or old SCSI scanner on Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by macmesser, Feb 21, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #1
    I have an old Umax flatbed scanner which has not been used since my G4 expired a while back and I'm wondering if I can use it with my mac Pro (Lion). It was a decent scanner in its day. If it's still useable, can I use the same scsi card?

    If I need to spring for a new scanner I'd appreciate recommendations. I don't need super quality but might want to scan in graphics for use with page layout. Also might want to do OCR.

    Thanks for any insights.
     
  2. macrumors 601

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    I believe you need a new scanner.

    The SCSI card will not work. Even if you got a modern SCSI card to hook the scanner to, I'd be surprised if you could get drivers for the scanner that are compatible with Lion. Also, a new SCSI card could easily cost far more than a scanner anyway.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    JavaTheHut

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #3
    Been using a Epson V700 for a couple years now works great for Trans. & Reflect art.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #4
    I'd try the SCSI one first. It should work OK thru TWAIN. But be careful cuz there were quite a few older UMAX scanners which were multi-pass and that's drastically inferior to single scanners. If it is MP then get something new - even a $75 one will be better...

    As mentioned above the V700 and especially the V750 are very nice scanners!
    (I had the pleasure of writing their respective manuals.) :)
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #5
    I was thinking of doing this with an old film scanner and decided it was not worth my while. Old driver for the scanner + sketch scsi card + twain used to crash my photoshop.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #6
    Bummer about the card. I did see some SCSI to usb adapters mentioned on the forums, which I never knew existed. They're even pricey.

    ----------

    Thanks for input.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    teleromeo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    kidnapped by aliens
    #7
    If you need to scan big negatives (sheet film etc) get the epson V700, otherwise a cheaper model will fit your needs.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #8
    Thanks for inputs. Will check out the V700/V750. The UMAX is a single pass. Will try the SCSi if I can get a decently priced card/adaptor and can get driver.
     
  9. macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #9
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #10
    Thanks for sharing. Thinking I don't need to complicate my life, but as often as not I forget this and get carried away. Will probably go with a new scanner or try to use the scanner on an HP all-in one, although the driver is pretty crude.

    ----------

    Thanks. Don't need to scan negatives at this point.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #11
    It was a good scanner; one of their top models. Fast and good color. I used to scan product shot prints but now do digital photography.

    Thanks for the link. If I can get a decent driver for it maybe I'll give it a shot. TWAIN is sort of a universal scanner interface, right? I seem to recall that a TWAIN driver is needed for the scanner.

    Saw some of those SCSI to usb cards. Do they have their own drivers and would a driver for a SCSI scanner work with them?
     
  12. Tesselator, Feb 22, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2013

    macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #12
    Well SANE stands for "Scanner Access Now Easy" ;) See http://www.sane-project.org for details.

    And yeah, TWAIN is a Protocol/API. All ya need is a "Data Source" (TWAIN jargon) for your scanner model AFAIK. "TWAIN" by the way isn't an acronym - it's actually taken from a line in a song: "Oh, East is East and West is West, and never the TWAIN shall meet..." :D Us software engineers are so silly! :rolleyes: About the only decent resource I know for it outside of my own 17,000+ printed book collection (not all on the topic of TWAIN obviously) is http://twainforum.org but even that is pretty quiet these days. I guess there are a bunch of white-papers on-line that can be sussed though.

    Anyway, if you're considering the V700 or V750 models which are fairly expensive then it might be worth spending a free day trying to get your current one connected and working first. Also while I'm at it I should probably mention that there are SCSI to firewire adapters as well - which some folks report as working better (probably due to the speed).
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #13
    Here's a very long shot.

    I have a Compaq AlphaServer DS10 with two LSI Logic SCSI cards. I only need one card now.

    The DS10 is old, so the slots must be the old PCI flavor.

    LSI Logic SYMB952-U. I can't remember whether I bought it from Compaq or not. If I did, it might have non-generic firmware onboard. I just don't know.

    If you do some research and think it might work, I'll gladly send it to you.

    That said, in my experience new scanners are a whole lot better than old ones, at least in the same spec range.
     
  14. macrumors 601

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #14
    Maybe TWAIN has been improved a lot in these last few years, but back in the day when I used SCSI scanners and TWAIN, the feature set was very limited compared to using the scanner's proprietary drivers and software. Granted, that was back in the mid-90's.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #15
    Thanks for the offer. Your card is probably similar to the Adaptec card I was using in the G4 so I doubt it will help. The more I think about this the more it seems I need to spring for a new scanner. I will check to see if the Adaptec can run in my Mac Pro. BTW, scanner is a Umax Powerlook II. I'll also check to see if I can get updated software for it. Worth a stab anyway, but I think the this exercise is getting complicated enough to be counterproductive.
     

Share This Page