New, Student Mac User with some Software Questions, etc..

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by DMBGuru, Jan 11, 2007.

1. DMBGuru macrumors regular

Hello! First of all, I'd like to apologize ahead of time for the long post, but rather than making 5 posts on different things, I thought I'd make one, all-inclusive post. I've been visiting this site quite frequently lately, especially due to my vast amount of research spent on choosing what laptop I'm going to buy. I've read reviews on every laptop that is currently being sold in major stores and manufacturers, and I've decided to go with:

C2D 2.0 Macbook (White), 2gig ram, 80gig HDD, Applecare.

My reasons for purchasing the MB as opposed to any of the other laptops were:

1. I'm a student and needed something compact with a relatively good battery life.
    2. I wanted something that didn't really look like ass.
    3. The price was right, my university has that student discount dealy with apple.

All in all, with applecare, I think the bill was like $1600. I think I may invest in another battery to take around to really boost my battery life away from the dorm, but 3-4 hours is good enough for me right now.

Let me also say that this is my first time making the switch.. sure I have an iPod, but I've been a hardcore Windows user all my life and know that operating system inside and out. I must say, because Vista looks like it's gonna suck (and indeed seems like it's stealing a lot from OSX), I decided now would be a nice time to test the waters in mac.

As a student, I will mostly be doing word processing and research... I have a desktop for gaming, so I don't need anything special in the way of a discreet gpu. Ram is obviously important simply because ram is ram. You can never really have TOO much.