New superfast SSD for rev b/c?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Gadgetman99, Sep 14, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    #1
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #2
    A potential way around this is to sell the stock SSD for $300(ideally after applicable fees depending where you sell).

    $449 - $300 = $149

    or (if there's a market for 120gb HDD)

    $449 - $249 = $200

    [the above was calculated thru Geek calculator, aka Early Adopter aka Mr. Disposable Income Generator]
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #3
    how come it doesn't work on rev A?
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Location:
    Rockville (Despite REM's plea.)
    #4
    The Runcore drive in question is a SATA drive with a LIF (low insertion force) interface; whereas, the Rev A MacBook Air uses a PATA drive with ZIF (zero insertion force) connector.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    old news,

    the runcore has been out for a bit, i purchased one and it did not work out of the package. sent it back.

    company sucks


    if you go to runcore's site they offer them for rev a up to 128gb.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #6
    I feel those who have installed the Runcore are getting a great drive. There have been numerous reports initially that people were sent the wrong cable or it didn't work in MBA. However, every post I have read lately about it has been positive.

    The thing is they're showing the Runcore SSD vs HDD 4200 rpm in their screen shots. However, the Runcore is also outperforming the Apple SSD but marginally. I would say if you have an HDD and you want to upgrade to SSD, this is a good option (only option right now).
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #7
    xBench Disk Test scores:
    2.13Ghz/Stock SSD: 86.89
    2.13Ghz/Runcore SSD: 176.54
    http://www.runcore.com/content/prod...mages/RCP-IV-LA1800-Cth.jpg&GBSize=32GB-128GB
    This is a whopping 103% increase in disk performance over the stock SSD. The Runcore is by no means a performance SSD, and this gives you an idea how incompetent the stock SSD is. Even $300 is quite a premium over the HDD model considering the low specs.
     
  8. macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #8
    While you may consider the stock SSD incompetent, the HDD is 5x to 10x more incompetent than the stock SSD! Even a Samsung SSD SATA-II converted to LIF via soldering is double the performance which shows Apple is limiting the stock Samsung SSD.

    I am very happy with the Samsung SSD Apple is using. Could it be faster, sure, but as it is it's faster than an average MBP with 7200 rpm HDD. That is how I baseline performance, and the MBA has a fine performer with a stock SSD. With an HDD the performance is ridiculously limited and severely strained and slow against any other laptop on the market.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    mhnajjar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #9
    Well said. Apple provided a cheap part as usual for $$$. However, it is shame that Samsung never updated its performance.

    As for the HDD, I do not know why people keep complaining about it since it is doing more than great. The difference is very few seconds no more when it comes to opening applications. Many gave Apple tons of $$$ for the cheap SSD and they want to assure themselves that they are getting what they paid for so they do not feel the guilt LOL :D
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #10

    This runcore SSD looks pretty good.:D
     
  11. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    #11
    Yes, I am thinking of getting one. It comes with an external usb enclosure and HD clone software. You install the software, plug in the SSD (into the USB), clone your HD to the SSD, then shut down, swap out the units and reboot into your normal machine, but with SSD sweetness. You then also gain an external USB backup drive (with a capacity of your old HD). All in all, looks hard to beat.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    dudup

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    #12
    When I got this SSD MBA, I did a quick and dirty boot comparative with my previous 15" MBP which I equipped with a OCZ Vertex SSD:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cPmfH4dYWtw

    Even considering the hardware differences between the two machines, I think there's a huge gap between these two SSDs. Actual real world usage can get quite different also.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    AIRniloc

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    anozira
    #13
    so how many people out there have actually installed the runcore on their rev b/c?

    what are the speed differences and xbench / geek score comparisons?

    forgive me if there is already another thread for this, i am very lazy :D
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #14
    So, you're saying OCZ Vertex SSD is pretty top notch?

    Geez, what is it that takes the MBA so long to power up in your video? Looks odd to me. Doubt it has anything to do with the stock SSD.
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #15
    vertex is not top notch, it takes a back seat to intel, always will....
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #16
    Oops, didn't even know that there's INTEL SSDs out there. Always thought of Samsung and the likes. Thanks! :eek:
     
  17. macrumors regular

    dudup

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    #17
    sure, but it's not that difference, i think they sit side by side with them:

    http://www.anandtech.com/storage/showdoc.aspx?i=3531&p=29

    they're definitely way better than apple's stock ssd. i'll record this same drive on a 13" MBP (2.26ghz 2gb) so we can get a better comparison, but the difference will be huge anyway, i'm 100% sure of that.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    dudup

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    #18
    AFAIK from the power on to the moment when the apple logo appears, it's mainly because the MBA has additional boot options like wifi for remote disc.

    but after it chooses the correct partition to boot up (the moment the apple logo appears), it's all about the ssd.

    usually the "ajax spinning thingy" below the apple logo will do 5.5 to 6 full circles when booting the MBA.

    on the MBP using OCZ Vertex, it's 0.5 spins :eek:
     
  19. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #19
  20. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    #20
    Correct. I sent a message to verify it is actually 128gb. I don't believe I got a response. I think he just reused an old picture of a 64gb unit.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    #21
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #22
    Did some XBench on this thing...

    Results 204.27
    System Info
    Xbench Version 1.3
    System Version 10.6.1 (10B504)
    Physical RAM 2048 MB
    Model MacBookAir2,1
    Drive Type RunCore 64G-C SSD
    Disk Test 204.27
    Sequential 164.78
    Uncached Write 210.66 129.34 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Write 226.41 128.10 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    Uncached Read 81.74 23.92 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Read 347.59 174.69 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    Random 268.65
    Uncached Write 95.17 10.07 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Write 367.52 117.66 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    Uncached Read 2210.49 15.66 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Read 827.80 153.60 MB/sec [256K blocks]
     
  23. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    #23
    I assume you have one installed? If so, how did it go and how do you like it?
     
  24. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, AUS
    #24
    Mate, it's a RunCore SSD;)

    Re:teamoo
    man, it's smoking!
    would you mind if you can clarify for me the content of the package?
    do they provide the mini-screwdrivers ? the ribbon cable?
    what else was in there besides from the SSD itself?

    cheers!
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #25
    Sure!

    So what's inside:

    • drive itself
    • ribbon cable
    • screwdriver
    • another screwdriver + 8 screws for external case
    • external runcore case for a 1.8" drive
    • USB to mini-USB cable

    The external case is not the nicest thing on earth, but well you can put a drive inside (perfectly for your old hdd that you've got after installing the runcore ssd)

    the screws are like some woodscrews, they are ultra-mini, i don't think you can use them again, but the case is just a little goodie.

    There was no software in the package, although installation instructions said "use the software blabla".

    Installation was very easy.

    Use Carbon Copy to duplicate your drive. It will tell you that the drive is NOT bootable. Just formatted the drive exactly like my internal hdd is formatted, same name etc. Started Carbon Copy again and got a green lamp saying "drive is bootable" or something similar.

    I didn't use the screwdriver that was in the package, because i've got some better tools in my house, but i think it will do the job.

    Just unscrew all the screws on the bottom and then just the 4 fixing the drive frame. One is a bit hidden under a black piece of plastic, that is glued onto the frame, so you have to remove this one.
    Don't worry, it's this very thick glue, so it's still very sticky and you can reapply it to the frame after the new drive is installed.

    Drive back in, no problems at all.

    jepp.
    went great (see above). plug in, format, carbon copy 2-3hrs, install, that's it.

    It seemed like the first startup (boot time) took way longer that using the hdd (stopped the time), but it seems to be much faster now. but starting programms is really fast right now.



    I'm not that focused right now, just ask some questions and I'll answer them.
     

Share This Page