New to Apple TV - please help

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by mshap1507, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    #1
    Hello. I am new to the Apple TV world. I have read numerous threads about ripping DVD's and Blu-Ray's. Frankly, they all went over my head.

    How do I take my current DVD collection and move them to iTunes so I can watch them through the Apple TV.

    I have an iMac with a 2 Terabyte hard drive and 8 gigs of RAM with the standard DVD drive that came with the iMac.

    I really appreciate your help.

    Mark
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #2
    I just started converting my DVDs to iTunes this week. I'm using RipIt to copy the DVDs to my MacBook and Handbrake to convert the movies to the format that iTunes will read.

    RipIt has 10 free rips before buying the license, which is $20 for 1 or a family pack (I can't remember how many this is) for $30. I'm buying the family pack so I can put it on my sister's MacBoob Pro and a MacMini once I save my pennies. Handbrake is free.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #4
    Why not rip and convert at the same time, i use handbrake to do both, just make sure you use apple tv in the pop out menu, i used normal and some movies didnt show up, although probably not an issue if you are ripping direct to apple tv.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #5
    I haven't endeavored down the Blu-ray conversion road yet. I've looked into a bit to know that there are separate Blu-ray ripping programs. I think, but am not sure, that you have to have a ripping program and a separate conversion program; the equivalents of RipIt and Handbrake to DVDs.

    After googling, I found Mac Blu-ray ripper. It looks to be able to rip and convert.

    Also, you will need a Blu-ray drive capable of copying. I haven't looked into these yet.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    #6
    I've tried a few DVD ripping programs and noticed that the audio was never in sync with the motion picture. Does Handbrake have this issue? Has anyone else ran into this problem?
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #7
    I'm on my 5th rip as I type and so far so good. I've watched the previous 4 and so far, so good. The picture quality has been right on par with the DVD and sound has been normal. I just use the Apple Universal system in Handbrake. It's easy to see once you're using it. I'm a gadget whore, but one that just needs things to work. I'm not adept at fidgeting with tiny settings that I have no idea what they do.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    #8
    That's great to hear! I'm going to download Handbrake and try this then when I'm done work.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #9
    If you're going to download Handbrake then I suggest you download the latest nightly version and not the 0.9.4 version from the Handbrake front page.

    https://build.handbrake.fr/

    While 0.9.4 was the last so called stable build I've been using the nightlys for some time now with no problems and the nightly builds are a lot faster and the resulting encoded files tend to be a lot more optimized.
     

Share This Page