New to iMovie

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Diomedes, Jan 13, 2005.

1. Diomedes macrumors 6502

While I am a fairly seasoned Mac user, I am new to using iMovie. The a death in my family has turned me to using iLife to create multimedia memorials for her.

My question is: the movies I have were the short ones taken with digital cameras. They are saved as AVI files. How do I import them into iMovie to manipulate them? Or is this too complex a question for this forum? I tried dragging and dropping an AVI file into iMovie, but it didn't show all the frames of the movie.

2. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

It is actually really easy. If you install the DivX QuickTime codec, you will be able to open AVI files in iMovie.

3. mslifkin macrumors regular

mslifkin

My condolences on your loss. I'm sure that whatever you put together, it will be very special.

Regards,
    Marc

4. Diomedes thread starter macrumors 6502

MARC,

THANK YOU for such kind words. I really appreciate it. :)

5. Diomedes thread starter macrumors 6502

How do I get the DivX codec?

OK, so maybe I am not that seasoned <grin>

How do I install the DivX codec? I have QuickTime Pro.

6. evilernie macrumors 6502

evilernie

I was wondering how to do this exact same thing. I thought that if you had Quicktime Pro you could export the files as something that iMovie could understand (like .mov files?)

I don't have Quicktime Pro, can you install this DivX codec without it?

Diomedes, I am sorry for your loss, not the best circumstances to be learning new software.

7. BWhaler macrumors 68020

BWhaler

I am so sorry to read about your loss. Good luck with your project; I am sure you will make something amazing and will be greatly appreciated.

8. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe