NEW to Mac, best of everything list,...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by whitetrashanth, Oct 25, 2005.

1. whitetrashanth macrumors member

Hi should be getting my QUAD in a couple weeks time,.... iv been using microsoft,.. for like 10 years now and know it pritty well, self taught and have an amazing catalouge of saved favourites in my internet explorer, i know all the good downloads pritty much for my pc in hand,...

only thing is,..

iv never really used a mac properly before and will be new to EVERYTHING

here, if it is atall possible could be put down thier favourite MAC sites,... best downloads for mac, which may include the following:

MSN messenger with web cam?
    any anti - virus/ adware stuff i might need (although i hear you dont but just security stuff)

special add on s

peer- to peer network programs for download as im not sure what will work on them! ( i use eMule, soulseek and winmX right now, not THAT much but would be helpful)

maybe just special mac sites, that are just generally very usufull and help ful

basically ANYTHING you think i might NEED or WANT (very differnt things but both applicable) as a first time MAC user!

thanks alot :)

2. MBHockey macrumors 68040

MBHockey

Somethings tells me you don't need all that power for surfing the web and using p2p programs ;)

I don't know about MSN Messenger, but if video is important to you, i guess the official client is your only choice (i'm not sure if it supports video or not).

For p2p there's programs such as Xfactor, Acquisition, Poisoned. You can search macupdate.com for "p2p" to find others to try out.

It's always a good idea to use anti-virus, i suggest ClamX AV, to prevent spreading viruses to your PC using friends/family (even though they cannot infect your Mac).

I believe there is only one anti-spyware app for Mac, called MacScan. However, i find that to be useless since there's no spyware or adware for Mac.

3. gwuMACaddict macrumors 68040

gwuMACaddict