New to Mac, buying a MacBook Pro -- Suggestions reqd.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by sandy44, Dec 3, 2006.

1. sandy44 macrumors newbie

Ok atlast I am buying my dream machine. A MacBook Pro .. but am confused between the lower and the higher end model.

Which one is the best bet for the buck ??

How much difference in speed is there between a 2.16GHz and 2.33 Ghz processor ??

Should I upgrade my HDD if at any point of time I want to install windows using a boot camp ?? I might need it for some accounting softwares used in school !!

I suppose that RAM can always be upgraded at a later point of time. Apple prices for an upgrade seem to be a rip off.

Please suggest and provide suggestions.

2. mattcube64 macrumors 65816

mattcube64

Okay, take my responses with a grain of salt, as I'm no expert. But from what I've gathered trolling the forums, this is what I've learned:

The processor isn't necessarily a huge jump. You'll likely not need it unless you plan on maxing out the CPU with heavy photoshop loads or graphic design. The speed increase isn't necessary for accounting software.

HDD space depends on how much content you'll want to save. If you just need a small partition of Windows to run a couple spreadsheets, I wouldn't worry about it. If you're going to put games on the Windows partition, remember they can take 7 or 8 gigs apiece. If you plan on saving a lot of media, ie videos, then upgrade. If you're just saving documents, the space isn't needed.

For the most part, even the biggest of Apple fanboys will agree that Apple's RAM prices are ridiculous. RAM is incredibly easy to upgrade yourself, and you can find it much cheaper on sites like Newegg.

Hope that helps.

3. ero87 macrumors 65816

ero87

Apple's RAM prices have actually gone down as of late. And most Mac problems are caused by faulty 3rd party RAM. and buying RAM later means that you have to open up your beautiful machine.