Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

merlin_1102

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 26, 2005
Hey Guys

This will be sorta quick as I am studying for exams.
Long story short I planned to get a Mac in about 2 more weeks from today (after my exams), but my toshiba laptop broke down for the 33rd time since I got it with an estimated 2 week reapirs time and seeing as how Apples delivry time was about this I ordered my very first Mac. I will start off by saying this was the dumbest idea I think I have ever had and has resulted in nothing but problems for me. The problem stemming from all my mac software I had purchased was shipped to my home address far far awAY and me not having time due to studying to play with many of the features and figure out how things work. Therefore I have compiled a list of my questions below which I hope some of you can help me with. I apologize for not browsing around more and if some seem obvious but due to a lack of time my mac experience has not gone smoothly (with the exception of my cs courses... I love the unix environemnt). Also I am a huge gentoo user on the PC and am therefore not afraid to compile if need be I have the developer tools installed.

Question 1: Codecs, some of my courses require watching WMV files. Asking for a diff format is not an option. I am currently using VLC to play them but would like to have Quicktime play them as well. In Linux I just used mplayer with some extra codec packs, windows I downloaded a nice codec pack. Anything equivalent for the mac so I can easily play wmv/divx/xvid/whatever in quicktime with perhaps one installation. Anyway to lock quicktime to the vlc codecs? How good does Flip4Mac work I am guessing it would only solve my wmv issue (I do have divx as well). The divx site is it safe? Last I recall they had spyware issues.