new to mac? program download and finder

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by boness19, Mar 11, 2007.

1. boness19 macrumors member

Mar 11, 2007
    hi i am new to my iMac

i know how to use programs on computers

i use windows since i came to america

i finally download msn messenger for imac

do u know how windows have control panel where u find setting there

where can i find it

i download stuff u know when u find a program that u like
    for example limewire and demo or trail or itunes or something
    where does it all go

there is stuff i download i want to remove before my imac get full and slow down

i need help on these things

window media player
    record video from my icam
    how to my mac mail
    add/remove programs
    use my icam in msn messenger
    is .mac account free
    how much is imac account
    front row
    itunes music folders
    my computer
    my docoument
    my music
    my pictures
    my video
    my download
    my revised floder
    mac os x (what is that) should i download this program
    iweb is it free
    podcast ( free)

i need help to find them or how to make them work please :apple: :(

i have a camera and i have firewire

but my firewire work only on windows hp and compact
  2. psychofreak Retired

May 16, 2006
    When you download MSN, you should get something with .dmg on the end appear on your desktop.

Double click this.

Open the finder, and near the top left of it there should be a white drive icon. Drag 'MSN messenger' from this drive into 'Applications', also on the left hand side of the Finder.

All your applications are in this 'Applications' folder. To uninstall an application, drag something from this folder to the trash.

Download Flip4Mac to play .wmv files in quicktime.

Open iMovie to record yourself with your camera (called iSight, not iCam). To use your iSight with MSN, download Mercury Messenger or aMSN.