New to Macs..considering additional RAM for PB?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by al3000, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. al3000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Hi all,

    I another thread I mentioned I was planning to have apple add me 1Gig of RAM for my new powerbook that I am planning to buy, and I heard that it is better to purchase the RAM from a third party?

    Could someone give me recommendations/advice? I am slightly worried about taking my powerbook apart, would it void my warranty? I am not really an advanced PC user anyway, so would this be difficult?

    I am in the UK, so I would need a company that delivers to the UK, and ideally I would be looking for a 1GB to go with my 512 already in.

    Thanks for your help :)
     
  2. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #2

    Apple charges a high price for ram because its under apple warranty..

    buy the ram from a company that carries lifetime warranty on the memory and is the right type of memory for you PB ..

    Memory upgrades are user friendly upgrades ..

    On the memory upgrade is only 1 door to open then slide the new memory in and replace door.. Of course of doing this, you have to turn off the computer..

    Just to make sure that you put new memory in slot 1 to it be recognied by the OS..

    iphil
     
  3. obeygiant macrumors 68040

    obeygiant

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    totally cool
    #3
    buy i some where else online and get two sticks of the same memory (ie two 512k or 2 1gb) because the bus runs faster with two of the same ram than it does with one or two different sticks.
     
  4. munkle macrumors 68030

    munkle

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    On a jet plane
    #4
    Check out Crucial or Kingston :)

    Edit: As for installing the RAM, it really isn't that hard. A useful guide can be found here.
     
  5. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    I don't think thats necessarily true in the PB's or iBooks. In the iMac and Powermac you get a dual DDR bus with matched memory but the PB and iBook only have a single ddr bus that always runs at the same speed.
     
  6. Ashapalan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    England
  7. al3000 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #7
    What type of RAM am I looking for DDR2? I know that the new powerbooks haven't been out that long, does the memory that most sites provide work with the old and new powerbooks?
     
  8. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #8

    Try this to find what type of memory you got:

    Click-on the "apple" in the upper left then about this Mac, click-on More-info button, then go down to 'memory' click-on that then it should tell you the specs on the memory ..

    iphil
     
  9. spellflower macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #9
    I too am planning on buying RAM. I have a new ibook G4 and I'd like to buy an additional Gig. Six months ago when I was reading everything I could about macs in preparation for buying one, I noticed that Crucial was a clear favorite for mac users. A while back I remember someone posting a thread about where to get the best prices on Crucial RAM upgrades, but I can't seem to find it now. Any advice? Should I buy from Crucial (who makes it easy to be sure I'm getting the right thing) or search around for their product being sold by others? Any suggestions?
     
  10. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #10
    FWIW, I bought a gig for my 12" PB from OWC and am happy with it. I think that there are a number of reputable dealers.
     
  11. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #11
    I agree with jsw on "owc" memory thats where i got my 256Mb ram stick..

    Just remember to put new memory in slot 1 to have Mac recognise the memory..

    My mac had 128Mbs of ram stock and i knew that i wanted to run tiger for "simple" stuff.. e.g. iTunes,TextEdit,Safari.. no iMovie etc..


    iphil
     
  12. carpe diem macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
  13. munkle macrumors 68030

    munkle

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    On a jet plane
    #13
    Only if you want to pay over the odds...
     
  14. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #14
    Tech roundup:

    PowerMac G5's use Dual Channel memory; you must install RAM in matched pairs, it's obligatory. Prior to Oct 19 2005 PowerMac G5s used PC3200 DDR DIMMs,

    New PowerMac G5 models > Oct 19 2005 use DDR-2 533 MHz DIMMs.

    iMac G5s <Oct 2005 use PC3200 DDR DIMMs and do not use Dual channel. A matched pair however will get 128-bit access rather than 64 bit access. There is a theoretical improvement in speed but not necessarily a real one. A mis-matched 1.5 Gb (1 Gb + 512 Mb) trumps a 1 Gb matched pair of 512's for performance anyway.

    The new iMac G5 1.9 and 2.1 have a single, DDR-2 533 MHz memory socket.

    No Powerbook or iBook has ever taken advantage of matched pairs. Prior to Oct 19 2005, Aluminum Powerbook G4 and all iBook G4 take DDR SODIMMs, some early models take PC2100 but it's common now to use PC2700 in all models. All iBooks and 12" Powerbooks have some RAM on the motherboard plus a single socket, all 15" and 17" have two sockets.

    The Powerbook G4 15" and 17" > Oct 19 2005 take DDR-2 SODIMMs

    The Mini has a single DDR socket, and can take PC2700 or PC3200 DIMMs

    eMacs have used 2 types of RAM -- 700 - 1 GHz machines with USB 1.1 used PC133 DIMMs, 1 GHz - 1.42 GHz machines with USB 2.0 used PC2700 DDR DIMMs. Note the overlap in the 1 GHz speed.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  15. Apple!Freak macrumors 6502a

    Apple!Freak

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    East Coast
    #15
    Yeah, only if you want to pay up to six times as much. Apple sells a 2GB stick of DD2 for $1200, while NewEgg sells the same thing for $215.
     
  16. al3000 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #16
    Could someone confirm..if I install the ram myself, will it void my guarantee?
     
  17. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #17

    The ram is User installable item.. the ram just wont be covered by apple warranty.. it'll be covered by ram company like crucial.





    iphil




    Edit: Just make sure you get a lifetime warranty on the memory..
     
  18. al3000 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #18

    Thanks. Am thinking of purchasing from Crucial..do they provide a lifetime warranty? I can't see anything on their site.
     
  19. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #19
    What type of a mac you have now ?


    The Crucialsite link to UK warranty page is here:

    http://www.crucial.com/uk/company/termsofsale.asp#limited_warranty

    Yes crucial uk caaries a lifetime warranty on all memory ..


    iphil
     
  20. spellflower macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #20
    Crucial makes it easy for those of us who don't know what we're doing to make sure we're buying the right RAM, but how do I make sure I'm getting the right stuff from other stores? I'm inclined to go with Crucial brand RAM based on the good feed back (and what's this about a lifetime warranty?), but I'd like to shop around at New Egg etc. to get the best price.
     
  21. tremewan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    #21
    Soon to be Switcher wants more RAM

    I'm considering purchasing my first-ever Mac and am interested in one of the 2.1 GHz 20" iMacs. My main concern, however, is the fact that this latest generation comes with only one memory expansion slot (whereas I believe the previous version had two). If I order from the Applestore UK (online) with an upgrade to 1.5 Gb RAM, will they a) put a bigger unit in the fixed slot, leaving the expansion slot free OR b) simply put an extra 1Gb module in the extra slot, leaving me no room for further expansion? If the latter, I might as well just order a 1Gb unit from Crucial, put it in myself, and save nearly sixty quid!:confused:
     
  22. al3000 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #22

    Planning to get a PB.
     
  23. smartbrother macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    #23
  24. al3000 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #24
    Ok I have decided to go with the RAM from crucial for the PB i will be getting. I am going to go with another 512, will this be enough? I am thinking that I probably wont need 1.5GB, and if I do I can always replace a 512 with a 1gb in the future (is that right?). Thanks
     
  25. smartgirlglasse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #25
    Two questions

    I had posted a similar question re: RAM for a powerbook, and one of the posters replied that it's better to keep some Apple RAM in the machine rather than replace all of it with third-party RAM because Apple won't cover RAM-related repairs when you're not using their RAM.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=156862&highlight=Powerbook+Ram

    So, do y'all think that it's better to use mismatched RAM (1 GB from Apple, 1 GB from Crucial) or just replace apple stock RAM with all third-party product?

    My next question, re: mismatching over lots. If you buy the new iMac and crank it up to 1.5 Gb, then you've got mismatched chips that obeygiant cautions against. In that case, would it be better to just buy 2Gb from a third-party, and not have any Apple RAM?

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page