New to Macs - Need Advice.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by RobbieL, Jan 15, 2007.

1. RobbieL macrumors member

Jan 15, 2007
    In response to my post over in the Buyers Tips section, there is a things I'd like to know about applications. I'm brand new to Macs, so I'm not exactly up to scratch on what's the best application for individual tasks.

The main tasks I'll be carrying out on the Mac will be web browsing, chatting (both IM's and IRC), web development, word processing and other of the usual office tasks. Can anyone suggest a few apps that'll cover that'll meet my needs above?. Plus, is there any other neccessary apps I should know about?

Another thing I'm not to sure on is Anti-Virus and Firewall. Now being a PC user for all these years, having an AV and FW is essential. But what about with a Mac? I know Macs are well known for there virus free ways, so does mean I don't need to worry about an AV and FW?

Thanks for your time, much appreciated. :)
  2. psychofreak Retired

May 16, 2006
    No antivirus needed.

Stuffit Expander is almost essential

Inquisitor is a great plug-in for safari (allthough some people like firefox)

Adium (latest beta especially) is a great customisable IM thingamabob - I also use Mercury Messenger for video

Get the skype 2.5 beta if you want it

VLC player is great for all codecs

Flip4mac allows WMV in quicktime

NeoOffice is a great office suite

Xtorrent/Azureus for torrenting, Acqlite for P2P if you like that kinda thing

SuperDuper is good if you want to back up your HD

These are all free!
    Welcome to the world of macs

Parallels is not free but great if you want to run windows inside OSX, not for games or graphics though...
  3. killmoms macrumors 68040

Jun 23, 2003
    Washington, DC
    I like Safari just fine for web browsing (with PithHelmet, for blocking in-line ads in webpages) especially since it reads RSS feeds, though having Camino around for safety ain't a bad idea.