New to Macs - question about powerbooks. (long)

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Pablo, Jan 8, 2003.

1. Pablo macrumors regular

Well, not exactly new, as my first PC experiences came on an older Apple (circa 1986 - Mac Plus)

But for all intents & purposes, I'm new to Macs (the newer OS). I've been a Windows user since DOS. I'm currently on XP Pro, which is the best OS I've seen come out of Redmond, and while I'm not as unhappy with this product as I was witn Windows 95 and 98, it still leaves me with an empty feeling.

I tried a few distros of Linux, and while it was great to tinker with, it became evident that it was far from being the Windows replacement that I was hoping for - mainly because it took entirely too much fiddling to get it to do what I wanted (burn CDs, talk to a Windows network) and much of the software that I really need (Quicken, Turbotax, Photoshop, GoLive, DVD software) either wasn't available/didn't run natively or it's replacement (Gimp) were nice, but not quire adequate. It was great for web & e-mail, but not much more.

Currently, I've got a Dell Inspiron 4100. It's about a year and a half-old, but my wife is starting to ask for a 'new' PC - specifically a laptop she can keep downstairs. So while another computer purchase this quickly isn't usual for me, I could justify it...

So I've been looking at the PowerBooks for a little while. My wife's a teacher, so we could get a decent discount on one (~$150-300 depending on model). I was leaning towards the 15.2" model, but really like some of the features on the just introduced 17" model (namely illuminated keyboard and integrated bluetooth).

So now it becomes a cost/benefit analysis and I was hoping that some of you might be able to provide some input.

What (if any) loss in battery life will there be from the 1) 17" screen as opposed to the 15.2" and 2) illuminated keyboard?