New to OS X, few questions.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by shuurajou, Jan 26, 2005.

1. shuurajou macrumors regular

Hi folks, I'm a veteran windows user and took the plunge to get a mac so I could play with this attractive operating system :).

A few questions about OS X which have puzzled me since my useage of it.

1. The zoom button seems to function oddly to me incomparison to what I'm used to with the maximize button in windows. It always seems random in what it zooms to. The best I can describe it as, is that it seems zoom in, only as much is needed for that website or program? Am I understanding this right?

2. With the Dock, I understand the yellow button, shrinks the current window/app into the dock. However, the use of the red button confuses me. As normally a Windows user, I'm used to the x (or in this case the red button), terminating the app, but most of the time I click the red button, it looks like it's closing the app as I would expect, but then I still have the tiny black triangle indicating this is not the case. Which then I have to close it again via the top left. This is a bit of a pain to me, is this right? Maybe I'm miss-understanding the meaning of the black triangel. I just have this idea that all the programs with black triangles are still using up resources yet I've closed them.

Thanks for any help to a new mac user guys (well, I did use them for a few years at around 1999 :)).

2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

The zoom button is meant to make the window as big as it needs to be to view the content. This can be smaller than the current size!