New to OSX and have questions

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Egosphere, Nov 28, 2006.

1. Egosphere macrumors member

Hi. I'm new to OSX, and overall I really like it, but there's a few things that irk me that I was wondering about:
    1. If I start iTunes playing some album and then use the artist-album browser thing to go to another artist or album, once the current track is over iTunes will stop and not continue to play the album. Is there a way to tell iTunes to keep playing the background whatever it's playing unless I explicitly change the track so that I can browse through my music, others' music, or playlists while it keeps playing the album or playlist or whatever I told it to play?
    2. I'm a Firefox user, but I figured I should give Safari a go. I like it. It's fast, but I despise its tab bar. Is there a way to replace the tear-away system of too many tabs (where when there are too many tabs, it puts any new ones in a menu that pops up from a button at the end of the tab bar) with a scrollable tab bar? If not, I'll just stick with Firefox. Then, if I do stay with Firefox, is there a way to make widgets look OSX-y instead of Windows-esque gray pseudo 3D rectangles.

Thanks for the help.

2. killmoms macrumors 68040

killmoms

You can keep listening to the same music if you're browsing others' libraries or playlists, but if you change the view in your library, that becomes your current view. In order to keep playing a specific album, you either need to leave your view on that album or make a playlist—since iTunes is playing from the Browse view, if you change that view, it doesn't know what to play. In a similar fashion, a playlist will continue to play if you browse your library or others' libraries. (Did that make sense? It's kind of hard to explain.)