New to the Mac world!

Discussion in 'Community' started by neoelectronaut, Dec 4, 2003.

1. neoelectronaut macrumors 68020

neoelectronaut

Hello everyone, I'm new to the world of the Macintosh. I've used Macs before in art classes and school going all the way back to 1992 with the Apple IIGS, but it was not until Wednesday of last week that I officially am the owner of my own Mac. After putting up with PCs my entire life I decided it was time to make the switch. So switch I did. Finally my parents let me purchase my own computer, so instead of having them choose some ****ty PC I chose my own 1Ghz, 512MB ram eMac. So, thus, I am now a Macaddict!

2. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

Dont Hurt Me

very nice choice, this is the best value no doubt! hope you get a lot out of it. you may want MacAddict magazine to go with it. a great resource but the web site kind of sucks, the magazine has a disc every month with freeware,demo's updates games etc. take care

3. themadchemist macrumors 68030

themadchemist

Congrats on your decision! One of my friends has an eMac and is very happy with it. I hope you enjoy it and I'm sure you will.

Speaking of good resources (as Dont Hurt Me was), I think you stumbled on the right site for that. I've owned a Mac for about 14 years, and I must say that most of the magazines have gone down the toilet. Man, Mac User was great, as was MacWorld. Mac User got bought off by MacWorld and MacWorld has not been very good lately, with the exception of the Games column (Chris Breen?) and Andy Inahtko's humorous musings (a carry-over from Mac User). MacAddict is sometimes useful and informative, but a significant portion of that magazine is garbage. MacHome Journal used to be kinda good, but it's not really so good anymore. HOWEVER, MacRumors is definitely very, very good.