New to this credit card thing...

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by TheMonarch, Sep 8, 2006.

1. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

May 6, 2005
    Bay Area
    I'm a college student, and I got my first credit card about 6 months ago, and need some advice about how to go about this particular situation.

First, all of my credit card payments have been on time, I think I've been fairly responsible so far. But for some stupid reason, I forgot to pay my satellite TV bill. My mistake, I'm stupid for that, and it won't happen again.

So I call them and ask for my password to be reset (I forgot it, and needed it to pay online). Turns out that I owed $540+, I said that it must be a mistake, and that I knew that I had a past due bill that I was ready to pay. Upon asking more questions, they said I being being charged 2 non-return fees of $200.

I told them I had returned the broken DVR to them long ago, they asked for a tracking number. Now, this was about 2 months ago, I didn't know where It was, so I would call them later. But there was no way I was going to pay a $540+ bill, even If I had a past due one.

Then I started getting unknown calls in the middle of class. After researching the number, it turns out its a collections agency. I was starting to get extremely frustrated. I found the tracking number, called them, and managed to get one of those $200 charges removed. I was told the other one had to be escalated somewhere, and that I'd be 7-10 days before its gone. I also payed my past due month, and the current month.

But according to them, I still owe then $200. I guess I could wait until the charge is credited back, but the thing that struck me is... Through this whole ordeal, I got sent to a collections agency...

Did my credit rating just go to hell? What should I do now? :confused: :(
    I hate Direct TV.
  2. Coolerking macrumors member

Aug 11, 2006