New to Video Editing...Need help with equipment

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by DeliciousVinyl, Oct 10, 2006.

1. DeliciousVinyl macrumors newbie

My work wants to start producing install video's of our product onto project vehicles. I have plenty of graphic desing experience but have no experience in dv editing. My question to you is:

Where do I start? Are there any "go to" forums that I can visit?
    What sort of equipment should I get?

I know I will need Camcorder/Software/Computer/Lighting, etc. I don't need the best out there, just equipment that will deliver a quality instructional video to our customers.

Any help/opinion would be much obliged.

Thanks.

2. Lebowski macrumors 6502

design, not desing

3. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

Sdashiki

Wow, thats helpful.

/sigh

onwards.....:D

google for some DV forums, there are plenty.

but youd need to figure out your budget first and foremost, then see what you can afford.

Dont skimp on the camcorder, go for a good quality one with some manual controls on it, especially frame rates, apertures and focusing.

as for the other stuff, Final Cut Studio is your software package.

Lighting, backdrops, mics, are all secondary, but of course necessary if YOU feel them to be. Only you, and/or your clients, know what youd need.

From what I can gather about you, it seems you arent THAT into digital video at all. If that is the case, and this is 100% alien to you, I wouldnt start off so ambitiously. You can expect to start from nothing and immediately produce commercially viable videos.

OF COURSE most clients know even less than their toddlers when it comes to how stuff is made digitally, so they would probably be impressed with even the most basic thing. So perhaps iLife (iMovie and iDvd) are best for your needs. In any case, research is your friend.

4. Mydriasis macrumors 6502

Mydriasis