New User Of Mac Needs Help To Understand Some Vocabulary

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by guepard, Feb 27, 2006.

  1. guepard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    #1
    Hey,

    I bought recently a mac, iBookG4, downloaded, aMSN and bought a iSight, but didn't succeed to make the iSight worked with aMSN. It seems that I have the so-well known problem of the "you are firewalled or behind the router". Some people might argue at this point "Ok, go to check the aMSN help or other forums". I did check the aMSN help online and some differents forums to try to resolve my problem, and found it deals with a "router", "port", "forwarding" which are not well configurated...some staff like this...
    I am sorry, but after I read the word "router" I was already lost...
    Someone could explain to me what does that mean a "router", "a port range forwarding", which window I need to open to change the "ports" from "6890 to 6900" ? I tryed to go to the system preferences in the menu apple and opened many sub-menus but didn't find too much..
    Please can someone give me some help to a NEW USER OF MAC and will not make think that he did a bad choice to join the MAC communauty...
    Thank you very much in advance,
    Guepard
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    Ok this is what I got for you. First of all are you using a router? I know you said you don't know what one is so I'll describe it briefly. A router is like a giant splitter for your internet connection. So you would have your internet Modem where the internet comes into your house. Does the internet plug right into your computer from the modem? If it does then you do not have a router.

    But if there is another device (the size of a hard cover book), that the internet cable plugs into? that would be your router.

    I'll assume you do not have a router. Well now with your aMSN program open the preferences under the Messenger menu at the top of the screen. In that window click the "Accounts" button, at the top. You'll notice a ports text field where you can enter the specific port you need. Click the "Manual Settings button" and enter the port. Hopefully you'll be all set.

    That work any better?
     
  3. guepard thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    #3
    Hey, thanks a lot for your answer.
    I think I don't have any router, you are right.
    I tryed to click on the button "preferences" after that I opened the aMSN but no button "Accounts" after, only choice between " Personal", "Appearance", "Session", "groups", "privacy", "logging", "Connection", "others", "Advanced".
    Thanks,
    Guepard
     
  4. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    Ok well for clarification, what program are you using? aMSN?? I'm not sure I'm familiar with that one.

    EDIT: Ok, I see it on versiontracker, I'll give it a go and see what I can do.
     
  5. guepard thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    #5
    thanks a lot for taking time, I am using aMSN.
    Guepard
     
  6. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #6
    Ok, I don't have an iSight so I can't totally figure it out for you.

    I did a search here in the forums "isight amsn" , and there is a bunch on it. Sorry I can't be of more help.
     
  7. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    Explanation...

    All the references you are talking about refer to your modem or router (if you had one).

    Who provides your internet service? THEIR home page is what you need to be checking.

    For instance, when I want to open up ports on a modem or router, I open up a web browser (safari in this instance, but any will do...you do NOT have to use internet explorer to do this) and type in my modem's ip address, which could be 66.982.23.85 (I made that up, but it will always be four sets of numbers separated by dots). From THERE you do the port forwarding business.

    So...check with your internet provider's support crew.
     

Share This Page