New version of Nuker and Net Send

Discussion in 'Community' started by grabberslasher, Jul 7, 2003.

  1. grabberslasher macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
    #1

    Attached Files:

    • both.jpg
      both.jpg
      File size:
      46.1 KB
      Views:
      350
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    Sorry, but neither are working in my home LAN.
    Net send can't find any PC's on the network, but I assure you there are 4 of them there, all on the same subnet as the Mac, and the Nuker just keeps on coming up with Broken pipe.
    I am not running fire walls on any of the machines either.
    Even tried the Nuker on Longhorn (4015), it didn't crash that, and believe me, that's saying something! :eek: ;) :D
     
  3. Flowbee macrumors 68030

    Flowbee

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Alameda, CA
    #3
    I still don't understand what the point of either of these 'apps' is. Is it fun to 'nuke' people's systems and send them annoying messages? Would it be fun if PC users could do that to Macs? Maybe I've been out of high school too long to understand the appeal.
     
  4. grabberslasher thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
    #4
    If neither are working then it must be something about your network.

    Net Send is very basic. I don't know how it can't work.

    BTW, you need ports 135 and 139 open.
     
  5. grabberslasher thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
    #5
    Nuker is a demonstration tool that can tell you if your PC is "Nukable". If it can be nuked that means that anybody can do it to you, a huge security risk. If your system is Nukable then you should find and install a patch (search on Google).

    PC users can do it to macs - macs using OS 7/8 and MacTCP. They used to do it a lot. This is retaliation.

    Net Send is for communicating over a large mixed network. It is invaluable for large companies (imagine rendezvous iChat for the Wintel world)
     
  6. grabberslasher thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
    #6
    What sort of Router/Hub do you have?

    Try using the dos command "net send COMPUTERNAME MESSAGE" on one of the PCs to another PC (Windows NT/200/XP/.Net/Longhorn only).
     
  7. grabberslasher thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
    #7
    Confirmed it against Windows 95 in Virtual PC.

    Here's a screenshot for your pleasure.

    Screenshot of NT 4 soon to follow.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    I have a Linksys router/switch, and yes the messenger service is running, net sends work from PC to PC.
     
  9. grabberslasher thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
    #9
    Windows NT.

    I don't have 3.11 to test it with that.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. grabberslasher thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
    #10
    Would you happen to have Virtual PC?
    You could then try it out on that...

    Otherwise I haven't a clue. What OSes do you have?

    SP3 fixed both 95 and NT.
     
  11. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #11
    Yes I have VPC, but there is no way I'm setting that up just to test this I'm affriad.
    I have 10.2.6 on the Mac, and XP Pro SP1 on the PC(s).
     
  12. grabberslasher thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
    #12
    Well, I have 2 Macs, both 10.2.6. I have one PC, Windows XP Pro SP1 with a shared internet connection (ISDN). My hub is an old 10BaseT thing.

    Net Send can scan and works fine.

    Both Macs have the BSD core installed (from the Jaguar disk).

    Both machines can scan, net send and nuke the PC and any Virtual PCs I have (just look at the screenshots).
     
  13. grabberslasher thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
    #13
    Here, try it on my PCs IP address. I will tell you if it works.

    My IP changes every connection so it's not much of a risk.

    159.134.59.202

    Try that.
     
  14. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #14
    "Error: Connection refused"
     
  15. Schiffi macrumors 6502a

    Schiffi

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Location:
    Missouri
  16. grabberslasher thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
  17. hvfsl macrumors 68000

    hvfsl

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Location:
    London, UK
    #17
    Grabberslasher, do you plan to add support for Windows 98 or 2000 since most PC users I know are using those OS.
     
  18. grabberslasher thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
    #18
    The XP option can probably crash Win 2000 as well but I haven't tested it.

    98 can crash by itself, it doesn't need my app.

    ;)
     
  19. Wardofsky macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    #19
    I use Windows 98 so it's not shooting down the computer, I took down the masking tool that made it invisible...
     
  20. grabberslasher thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
    #20
    New update:

    Windows XP Service Pack 2 fixes the problem.

    Windows 95/NT SP3 fixes it too.

    I'll try and find a new way round them.
     

Share This Page