Newbe With a few Tech XML Questions

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Fosterhere, Aug 4, 2003.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    Cold Spring on Hudson
    #1
    Hi, I used to post on MacDebate (anyone know what happened to that site its gone -poof ?)

    Anyway here are few of my problems. I recently had a career change and started working in real estate. In my new office everyone works on PC's so I'm obviously the odd one with my Ibook. The number one problem I have is accessing the MLS (Multiple Listing Service ) . The MLS is the backbone to all Real Estate offices and without being able to access it from my lap top I'm at a distinct disadvantage, and must rely on the office's communal PC to do searches. Here are the particulars and some of my ideas about solving the problem. The MLS is a totally web based service which boggles the mind that I cant perform any searches on it. This is the log on to the site http://www.priv.wpmls.xmlsweb.com/login.asp for obvious reasons I can't give you my log in or password if I did I would loose my license. But you can see its has a XML architecture. My Ibook is running OS 9.2 with IE 5 for Mac, one of my questions is if I switch to OS X with the MLS XML work, initially speaking with the tech rep at the MLS they said they don't think so ??? MY other idea would be to get the Windoz emulator do you think that would work? I'm counting on you guru's to help me figure out this dilemma before I have to go out and buy a cheep Wintel laptop eeeeek.

    My other questions can wait till hopefully you guys can help me with this web bases problem. They are mostly concerned with accessing network printers in the office.

    Thanks in advance for all your help
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    #2
    I hate to see a good thread go un-replied, so here goes.

    I don't know.

    I dunno why it won't work, to be honest. You should switch to OS X, though, you may find Safari works correctly with it. Or the latest and greatest in MSIE technology :roll:

    Good luck getting that to work. I hope you can fend off the PC weenie demons.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    mrjamin

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Strongbadia
    #3
    Give Mozilla a try. I don't think they've developed the latest versions (1.3+) for OS9, but 1.2 (which you can download from here) is still available.

    thats all i can suggest. oh yeah, welcome to MacRumors!
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #4
    I too have this problem.

    The organization I work for uses a few proprietary software programs that are web based, and they use XML. XML is not exactly standardized, and to make matters worse, some web based software programs or their interfaces are not just browser specific, but version specific. I haven't found a viable solution.

    Now for the voodoo: (Tricking a site with OSX]
    Try a PC/Windows emulator. It's worth the try. If you can find somebody with an OSX computer, try the solutions that irmongoose suggests. You could also hit up some Real Estate forums* , and see if anybody has tried to use the site you listed with a Mac.


    * This site listed as an example.
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    As far as I can tell, that site wouldn't pass basic HTML validation, and is using a browser sniffer to try to determine the browser being used.

    If the designer(s) coded specifically for IE/Win or only tested it on that browser, then who knows what will happen when you try it with another browser...
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #6
    MacDebate.com is still there.


    I could have this wrong, but as it was relayed to me: The owner of the site did some jerky things to the users of the board, mostly concerning money and the UBB upgrades. From what I understand it all could have been handled better and in the end it wasn’t worth the owners time, effort or grief. I stopped using the board when it became a heavan for flamers. It was a good site most of the time, but I got more out of www.AppleInsider.com.

    Mac Debate is still active, and it is still powered by UBB.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    Cold Spring on Hudson
    #7
    Thanks for some of the responses here you guys are my new home :)
    So I DL Mozzila nadda didn't work. It actually worked less than I.E. 5, on IE 5 I could do certain things but I could not do a search. I had a similar effect when I used AOL's browser as I did with Mozzila, #1 I could not even log in :(. So now the big question do I spring for OS X jag or do I spring for a windoz emulator? Also thanks for the link to the R.E. Forum I joined and posted this same question there.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    Cold Spring on Hudson
    #8
    Just for fun I rebooted using my old ( pre Jag ) OSX 10.0.4 (build 4Q12) and used IE 5.1 for Mac. and had the same dificuty as OS 9.02 IE 5 I can't do a search.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    idea_hamster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, or thereabouts
    #9
    <swims out of depth>

    First, I wouldn't believe the person from MLS that the switch to OS X won't help unless he was a Mac person as well. Lots of people say lots of things about the Mac OS without any basis in reality.

    However, I don't have any particularly good reason why it would, in fact, help, except that OS X-based browsers are going to be designed with the broadest compatability in mind.

    Also, I would try more browsers before you give up: Safari; Opera has at least a beta for Mac; OmniWeb; Netscape. My bank's web site simply doesn't work with anything but Netscape (or IE *shudder*).

    The emulation (something like Vitual PC) is, in fact, a sure-fire winner, once you get all the internet connection info right (this took me a bit). However, I run a 500Mhz Rev. A TiBook and VPC6 is slow, slow, slow. That's the trade off, I think.

    </paddles back to shallow end>
     

Share This Page