Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iWoz

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 12, 2009
East Midlands, U.K
Hi Guys,

Im considering dulging into the iPhone app development jungle. I am a complete newbie in programming/developing. I currently work full time in I.T in 1st/2nd support in a windows environment. However I've purchased an iMac 27' i5 and I really want to challenge myself and learn developing apps etc.

Just wondering what advice anyone can give? I have read the sticky thread on FAQ, however I just wanted to see if anyone could provide any additional info that I might find useful? I guess I could start with reading a beginners guide/book. Can you recommend any? Or has anyone else started like me without a degree in programming or learning any coding.

Thanks in Advance

icewing

macrumors 6502
Jun 19, 2008
St Louis
Not trying to be short with you, but there have been many similar threads posted here. Try "Search this forum" button and do searches for Books, newbie, etc. There's a ton of them.

Welcome to the party!

newb16

macrumors regular
Feb 27, 2008
Hi Guys,

Im considering dulging into the iPhone app development jungle. I am a complete newbie in programming/developing. I currently work full time in I.T in 1st/2nd support in a windows environment. However I've purchased an iMac 27' i5 and I really want to challenge myself and learn developing apps etc.
Having a great (expensive) gear (rig) won't make you good programmer automatically and won't greatly facilitate the learning process.

Just wondering what advice anyone can give?
Thanks in Advance

Not to learn language, algorithms and framework all at once unless you have to.

iWoz

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 12, 2009
East Midlands, U.K
Not trying to be short with you, but there have been many similar threads posted here. Try "Search this forum" button and do searches for Books, newbie, etc. There's a ton of them.