Newbie buying help

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by duckyfred, May 29, 2006.

1. duckyfred macrumors newbie

Hello,

I am new to the Apple Mac world.
    I am looking to join in all the fun.
    I need some advice about buying my first mac.

While being strapped in the funds dept I have two choices that I am considering.
    I really like the design and look of the cube and would love to find one in my price range.
    Would this be a serious contender to last several more years?

However, I also have a friend willing to part with the following for $375.00:

533-MHz PowerPC G4
    graphics card updated to Radeon Pro 9000 Mac Edition
    DVD/CD has been upgraded to a NEC 8x DVD Burner model
    internal 250MB Iomega Zip drive
    original system disks are included both for OS X and OS 9.

1GB RAM
    40GB (7200 rpm) with an additional 120GB
    Apple 15" LCD Cinema Display
    Harman/Kardon iSub system
    Apple Pro Speakers
    D-Link Bluetooth USB device
    Logictech wireless infared mouse
    Apple Pro Keyboard
    iMic USB device
    original Apple System disks

Could someone let me know if this is a good deal?
    Should I hold out for a cube in that price range?

Or should I scrap both of those choices and look into a mini?

Any help would be greatly appreciated and definately needed.
    Thanks

2. spinne1 macrumors 6502a

spinne1

Because the G4/533 is so complete and comes with so much stuff is and is user ready, I say that is the much better deal than buying a Cube. A Cube will cost close to the same, but with likely less memory, less hard drive space, less video card capability, less processor speed, less expandability, no external speakers, no USB Bluetooth, no Apple 15" Cinema Display, no original system discs. Dude, you should RUN to your friends house and get that setup. You will spend ALOT more to get a marginally better computer going a different route.